SC gets five new judges

Last Updated: Fri, Feb 17, 2017 12:06 hrs

[India], Feb. 17 (ANI): Five new judges today took oath in the Supreme Court, taking the apex court's working strength to 28.

Rajasthan High Court Chief Justice Navin Sinha, Madras High Court Chief Justice Sanjay Kishan Kaul, Chhattisgarh High Court Chief Justice Dipak Gupta, Kerala High Court Chief Justice Mohan M. Shantanagouder and Karnataka High Court judge Justice Abdul Nazeer was today sworn-in as apex court judges by Chief Justice of India J.S. Khehar.

However, the apex court is still three short of its sanctioned strength of 31.

President Pranab Mukherjee had signed the Warrants of Appointment for the five judges earlier this week.

Chief Justice of India Khehar, Justice Pinaki Chandra Ghose and Justice Prafulla Chandra Pant are due to retire later this year. (ANI)

More from Sify: