Somnath, Baichung to be honoured

Last Updated: Thu, Jun 13, 2013 02:56 hrs
Somnath, Baichung to be honoured

Kolkata, June 12 (IBNS) Former Lok Sabha Speaker Somnath Chatterjee would be honoured with lifetime achievement award for public service and former India captain Baichung Bhutia and painter Washim Kapoor are among ten others to receive achiever awards at the 20th annual award function of Bharat Nirman in the city on June 15.

Four institutional awards would go to ITC Sangeet Research Academy (propagation of Indian classical music), AHEAD ( rehabilitation of autistic and mentally challenged children), Purwanchal Nagrik Samity (social services), and MSBT Dance Insitution " Udayan" (India dance), in the award function to be held at Kalamandir, according to Bharati Nirman chairman Ashok Kalanauria while releasing a list of recipients.

Other recipients for Achiever awards are actor Rachana Banerjee for cinema, Abhishek Dutta for fashion designing, Ruchika Mehta for journalism, Somi Gupta for beauty therapy, Ruprekha Banerjee for music and singing, Dinesh Jha for financial services, Vir Bala Agarwal for mass communication, and Dr Vivekananda Chakraborty in education.

The best couple awrard for the year would go to Indraneil Sengupta and Barkha Bisht Sengupta in acting, cinema and television.

Bharat Nirman inspired by late Indira Gandhi (Ex-Prime Minister of India) and was established by Lt. M. C. Bhandari in 1980 honors people, who help revive all ancient Indian sciences and propagate Indian way of life, culture & development.

More from Sify: