SP, Akali deflate Congress in key states

Last Updated: Tue, Mar 06, 2012 22:41 hrs

Regional political parties would rule two most politically important northern states in India with a young Akhilesh Yadav crafted Samajwadi Party sweeping the polls in Uttar Pradesh pouring cold waters in the dreams of Rahul Gandhi-led Congress, while the Akalis returned to Punjab in alliance with the BJP.

Manipur is the only state where Congress won decisively even as it got a wafer thin edge in Uttarakhand and said would try to form a government there with Independents and others.

In Goa, Congress was trounced by the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP)-Mahrashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) combine.

The results of elections in five states were counted and declared on Tuesday.

Congress licked the dust in Uttar Pradesh despite a valiant effort by poster boy Rahul Gandhi, as the Samajwadi Party of electoral politics hardened Mulayam Singh Yadav swept the polls in the heartland state riding on the strategy of young leader and son Akhilesh Yadav.

However, indications are that father Mulayam Singh Yadav will be the next chief minister of the state that the party won back.

"Everybody wants Netaji [Mulayam]," said son Akhilesh Yadav.

Out of the 403 seats, SP won 226 and hence needs no one´s support to form a government. The man was loud and clear for the SP.

While the 72-year-old Mulayam Singh Yadav would be the chief minister for the fourth time, his son Akhilesh Yadav has emerged as the star politician and hailed in media as the most matured among young leaders who successfully married old time-tested politics with modern ideas.

The chief minister Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) , mired in countless corruption scandals and misgovernance, had secured 80 seats, disastrous fall of 126 seats when compared to last election's fare.

The Congress alliance, meanwhile, got 38 seats, a rise of just six seats compared to the last time. The party fared since it had expected to do much better riding on party scion Rahul Gandhi's extensive canvassing.

Rahul Gandhi accepted the responsibility of poor showing in UP once again.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) alliance, despite a heady start after initial counting, got 47 seats, a dip of 4 compared to results from last time.

Sweeping the polls in Uttar Pradesh, SP leader Akhilesh Yadav said people have voted in favour of their party manifesto and "we will fulfill it and give a new face to the state."

The ruling alliance of Shiromani Akali Dal-Bharatiya Janata Party (SAD-BJP) returned to power in Punjab winning 68 seats in all and creating history of sorts by becoming an alliance that was for the first time in 40 years voted back to power for a second consecutive term.

While the SAD bagged 56 seats, the BJP got 12 in the 117 member assembly. Congress has got 46 seats. Others got three seats.

Parkash Singh Badal, 84, will remain the chief minister. He celebrated the victory with a jeep ride in his eponymous native village Badal.

The victory came to Prakash Singh Badal despite splits in his party.

While his son and party president Sukhbir Singh Badal was instrumental in the win, Parkash´s nephew Manpreet Singh Badal had quit the Akali Dal and formed his own party, People´s Party of Punjab (PPP).

However, PPP failed to open any account.

"We could win because the BJP fully supported us and our developmental works were appreciated by people," said Parkash Singh Badal.

The Congress received a major blow in the north Indian state where they were expecting better results.

Uttarakhand witnessed a neck-and-neck battle between the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress for the hot seat with the latter ending the day one seat ahead and claiming that it would form the next government with the help of Independents and other parties.

It is Congress 32 and incumbent BJP 31 in Uttarakhand where the BJP chief minister BC Khanduri lost to SS Negi of the Congress from Kotdwar seat.

The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) posted wins in 3 seats in the north Indian state.

Other parties and Independents registered wins in 4 seats. Of them one is bagged by Uttarakhand Kranti Dal-Panwar (UKD-P).

Congress need their support to form the government. Uttarakhand has a 70-member assembly.

Congress sources said the party would seek the support from three successful independent candidates as well as UKD, which won one seat, for government-making.

The Congress returned to power in Manipur, a state wracked by insurgency and economic blockades, under the leadership of chief minister Okram Ibobi Singh.

The Congress won 42 of the total 60 seats while their ally at the centre and in West Bengal Trinamool Congress won seven seats as results were declared on Tuesday.

The Naga Peoples´ Front (NPF) won four seats while the Manipur State Congress Party (MSCP) had won five.

Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) got one seat.

As highly anticipated, Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP)-Mahrashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) combine is all set to form a government in Goa after marking a historic win by securing 26 seats (along with Independents) in the 40-member assembly house.

The result is a major embarrassment to Congress which managed to secure only 9 while its ally Nationalist Congress Party got none.

As per the final tally, BJP won 21 seats, MGP 3, Congress 9, Goa Vikas Party 2 and Independents 5.

BJP-MGP alliance and 2 Independents taking the tally to 26 in all will stake claim to form government Wednesday.

The BJP has attributed this win to the people of Goa.

"It is Goa's victory. Congress had upset the locals," Manohar Parrikar, who is tipped to be the chief minister, told reporters outside the Miramar counting centre.

Assembly poll results: FINAL TALLY


Samajwadi Party 226
Bahujan Samaj Party 80
BJP 47
Congress 38
Others 12


SAD 56
BJP 12
Congress 46
Others 3


Congress 32
BJP 31
Bahujan Samaj Party 3
Others (including UKD) 4


Congress 42


BJP 26
Congress 9
Others 5

(Reporting by IBNS Correspondents, Writing by Sujoy Dhar)

More from Sify: