Sunil Gavaskar to receive lifetime award

Last Updated: Thu, Oct 25, 2012 14:24 hrs

Mumbai, Oct 25 (IBNS) Former India captain Sunil Gavaskar has been chosen as the winner of the Col. C.K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India´s (BCCI's) Col. C.K. Nayudu Award Committee met on Thursday in Mumbai.

"The Committee has chosen Sunil Gavaskar as the winner of the Col. C.K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award. The award comprises a trophy, citation and cheque for Rs. 25 lakhs," said BCCI Secretary Sanjay Jagdale in a statement.

One of the all-time greats, Gavaskar represented India in 125 Tests from 1970-71 to 1986-87.

He scored a record 774 runs in his debut series in the West Indies, and went on to achieve several milestones.

He was the first batsman to score 10,000 runs in Tests, and the first to play 100 consecutive Tests.

He was the first batsman to score hundreds in each innings of a Test thrice.

He was the first batsman to surpass Sir Don Bradman's tally of twenty-nine Test centuries. He led India in 47 Tests.

His greatest triumph as captain was India's victory in the World Championship of Cricket, a limited-overs tournament featuring all the then Test-playing nations, in 1984-85.

He became a popular media personality after his retirement.

He was Chairman of the BCCI's Technical Committee, and Chairman of the ICC's Cricket Committee, for several years.

Gavaskar will receive the Award at the BCCI Awards Ceremony, to be held shortly.

The Committee also decided to honour seven individuals posthumously with a Special Award, for their outstanding contribution to Indian cricket.

Each of the following cricketers of yesteryear will receive a trophy and cheque for Rs. 15 lakhs at the BCCI Awards Ceremony:

Vijay Merchant

Vinoo Mankad

Dattu Phadkar

Vijay Manjrekar

Ghulam Ahmed

M.L. Jaisimha

Dilip Sardesai

More from Sify: