T20: Pakistan defeat India by five wickets

Last Updated: Tue, Dec 25, 2012 23:30 hrs

Pakistan's Shoaib Malik hit a massive six to help visitors defeat India by five wickets in the the first of the two Twenty20 international at the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium here Tuesday.

Chasing 134 for victory, Pakistan reached the target by losing five wickets in 19.4 overs.

Pakistan needed 10 runs in the last over of the thrilling encounter as Malik hit a six in the fourth ball of spinner Ravindra Jadeja´s over to help the side reach the target.

Malik remained not out on 57 runs. He hit three boundaries and three sixes in the innings.

Malik along with skipper Mohammad Hafeez scored 106 runs in the fourth wicket partnership that proved to be crucial for Pakistan at the end of the match.

Pakistan was reduced to 12 for three in three overs as they commenced the run -chase but Malik and Hafeez pulled back the team to a comfortable zone after the initial blows.

Debutante Bhuvneshwar Kumar bowled brilliantly to pick up the wickets of Nasir Jamshed, Ahmed Shehzad and Umar Akmal as Pakistan made a terrible start to the innings on Tuesday. Kumar finished the match with brilliant figures of 4-0-9-3.

Hafeez, who was adjudged the man of the match, scored 61 runs off 44 balls and hit six boundaries and two sixes.

Indian pacers Ishant Sharma and Ashok Dinda scalped one wicket each for India.

Earlier, India scored 133 runs for the loss of nine wickets after Pakistan captain Hafeez won the toss and elected to bowl against the hosts.

Gautam Gambhir top scored for India with 43 runs.

Gambhir and opener Ajinkya Rahane (42) added 77 runs in the first wicket partnership and gave India a solid start in the match.

Th rest of the Indian batsmen failed to make significant contributions with their willows.

Virat Kohli (9), Yuvraj Singh (10) MS Dhoni (1), Suresh Raina (10), Rohit Sharma (2) and Jadeja (2) failed to make significant contributions as Pakistan restricted India 133 runs.

Pakistan´s pacer Umar Gul picked up three wickets by giving away 21 runs in his three overs.

Pakistan took 1-0 lead in the series.

Brief scorecard


India 133/9 in 20 overs

Gautam Gambhir 43

Umar Gul 21-3


Pakistan 134/5 in 19.4 overs

Mohammad Hafeez 61

Bhuvneshwar Kumar 9-3

More from Sify: