TDP, Congress MPs submit no-trust motions in Lok Sabha

Last Updated: Mon, Dec 09, 2013 11:20 hrs

New Delhi, Dec 9 (IANS) The ruling UPA Monday was confronted with a new headache over Telangana issue when members of the TDP and the Congress separately gave notice for no-confidence motions, said parliament sources.

According to the sources, four members of the Telugu Desam Party and six from the Congress submitted to Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar their notice for no-confidence motion.

These MPs are opposed to the government's move to carve out a separate Telangana state from Andhra Pradesh.

All the Congress MPs are from the Seemandhra region, which comprises the coastal Andhra and Rayalaseema areas of the state.

The cabinet has already approved the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh and the motion for this is expected to be sent for the consideration of the state assembly by President Pranab Mukherjee soon.

The Congress is facing a lot of resistance from within, including from Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy, against the move to create Telangana.

Congress sources told IANS that as per house rules, a no-confidence motion has to be taken up the first thing Tuesday morning.

The speaker will seek the leave of the house to allow the motion to be taken up by the house, which will require support from at least 50 members.

Congress sources agreed the situation was difficult for it as there was no way it could control the members of other parties on the floor of the house, but expressed hope that the party would be able to tackle the challenge.

From the TDP, K.N. Rao submitted the no-confidence motion supported by party MPs N. Shiva Kumar, N. Kristappa and M. Venugopala Reddy.

The six Congress MPs who submitted the notice include L. Rajagopal, R.S. Rao, Arun Kumar, Sabbam Hari, Harsha Kumar and Sai Prathap.

More from Sify: