Technologies, if not translated into products have no meaning: DRDO director

Last Updated: Tue, Mar 26, 2013 19:09 hrs

New Delhi: The 37th DRDO Directors' conference concluded here on Monday evening after three days of deliberations on the theme "Technology consolidation leading to fast-track induction" and related topics.

Summing up the deliberations, Padma Bhushan Dr. Vijay Kumar Saraswat, Chief Scientific Advisor to the Minister of Defence, and Director General of the Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO), Secretary of Defence Research and Development, stressed that the technologies developed must be led to their appropriate translation in to product.

"Technologies, if not translated into products have no meaning," said Dr. Saraswat, while emphasizing on the need for greater participation of private sector in this translation.

"Notwithstanding the markedly increased share of indigenous content from 30 percent to 55 percent in the items cleared for acquisition, the imports need to be reduced, since a country cannot be strong if it remains dependent on imports," he said.

The conference discussed in depth, among other things, the long-term requirements of armed forces and the technology development plan needed to meet these requirements. Emerging technologies and their impact on future warfare and security scenario was another subject that drew attention during the proceedings. It was evident that the future wars will see a dominant role played by unmanned systems, and the subject drew considerable attention. On front of emerging threats, energy, space and cyber security were seen as areas that needed greater attention.

"The armed forces have a large requirement of energy and its assured availability, especially during a conflict is essential", said Dr. Saraswat.

The participants and invitees emphasized on the need to leverage offsets more effectively, for which it was considered important that the offsets be worked out during early phase of selecting the vendor.

Country's technology requirements and existing gaps should be the guiding factor in the process. Increased participation of private sector industries and a need to create an echo system more conducive for promoting such participation was considered important.

An important highlight of the conference was the awards ceremony during which, Dr. Saraswat gave away the "Young Scientist Awards" and "Best Performance Awards" at a function organized on 24th March, 2013, at the Bhagawantam Auditorium, Metcalfe House, Delhi.

The winners of these awards are selected by a committee headed by Chairman Recruitment and Assessment Centre, after following a rigorous process, based on their performance and achievements.

Addressing the audience consisting of awardees and their families besides invitees, Chief Controllers and Directors.

In his address, Dr. Saraswat said that DRDO has come of age and is seen as a shining model. At the same time, the expectations of the people from the organization has also increased. Only excellence in technology and performance will take us to greater heights.

The tradition of recognizing younger scientists dates back to the time when Dr. DS Kothari, the first SA to RM and head of DRDO and other senior scientists of the nation deliberated at the Indian Science Congress on how to motivate them and lay a strong foundation of science in India, informed Dr. Saraswat.

Earlier, in his welcome address, Dr. G Malakondaiah, Distinguished Scientist and Chief Controller R and D (Human Resource and Materials) called upon the awardees to continue to foster innovation and team spirit. Dr. AK Singh, Director, Personnel, presented the vote of thanks.

In all, 16 awards in each category as mentioned were awarded:

Young scientist award: Ahmed Ovais Siddiqui, Scientist 'D', Advanced Systems Laboratory (ASL), Hyderabad; T Girija, Scientist 'D', Defence Research and Development Laboratory (DRDL), Hyderabad; Nilesh Patel, Scientist 'C', Vehicle Research and Development Establishment (VRDE), Ahmednagar; Amit Manglik, Scientist 'D', Research and Development Establishment (Engineers) (R and DE (E)), Pune; M Ramesh Kumar, Scientist 'D', Combat Vehicle Research and Development Establishment (CVRDE), Chennai; Kumar Gautam, Scientist 'E', Defence Electronics Research Laboratory (DLRL), Hyderabad; M Vengadesh Kumar, Scientist 'D', Defence Avionics Research Establishment (DARE), Bangalore; Narasimhan RS, Scientist 'D', Electronics and Radars Development Establishment (LRDE), Bangalore; Dr Vishal Kesari, Scientist 'C', Microwave Tube Research and Development Centre (MTRDC), Bengaluru; NNR Ranga Suri, Scientist 'D', Centre for Artificial Intelligence and Robotics (CAIR), Bangalore; Balvir Kumar, Scientist 'E', Terminal Ballistics Research Laboratory (TBRL), Chandigarh; Durgesh Nandini, Scientist 'C', Centre for Fire, Explosives and Environment Safety (CFEES), Delhi; Raveendra Varma RA, Scientist 'D', Naval Science and Technological Laboratory (NSTL), Visakhapatnam; Mahendra Pareta, Scientist 'D', Naval Materials Research Laboratory (NMRL), Ambernath; Shiba Narayan Sahu, Scientist 'D', Defence Metallurgical Research Laboratory (DMRL), Hyderabad; Vijay Kumar Tak, Scientist 'C', Defence Research and Development Establishment (DRDE), Gwalior.

Best performance award: Anil Kumar Babbar, Technical Officer 'C', Institute of Nuclear Medicine and Allied Sciences (INMAS), Delhi; NV Nagaraj, Technical Officer 'D', Defence Food Research Laboratory (DFRL), Mysore; Sudarshan Kedari Bandi, Technical Officer 'C', Research and Development Establishment (Engineers) (R and DE (E)), Pune; M Lakshmana Rao, Technician 'C' SF Complex (SFC), Jagdalpur; Prasad Vinayak Satvilkar, Senior Technical Assistant 'C', Naval Materials Research Laboratory (NMRL), Ambernath; RSN Murthy, Technical Officer 'B', Targeted Training Centre (TTC), Bangaluru; Tankasala Padmavathi, Private Secretary 'A', Defence Electronics Research Laboratory (DLRL), Hyderabad; DK Devappa, Civilian Driver 'D', Electronics and Radar Development Establishment (LRDE), Bengaluru; JK Khandelwal, Technical Officer 'B' CCE(R and D) (Central), Delhi; G Radhakrishna Pillai, Technical Officer 'C' Naval Physical and Oceanographic Laboratory (NPOL), Kochi; Vanita Kapoor, Personal Assistant 'C', CC(R and D)(M and M), DRDO HQ, New Delhi; RN Rangaswamy, Technical Assistant 'B', Defence Avionics Research Establishment (DARE), Bengaluru; PS Mahadevan, Senior Technical Assistant 'C', Combat Vehicle Research and Development (CVRDE), Chennai; Susheela Ganesh, Private Secretary 'A' Aeronautical Development Agency (ADA), Bengaluru; Jhabar Singh Aswal, Admin Assistant 'B', Dte of Management Services (DMS), DRDO HQ, New Delhi; JB Nageswara Rao, Admin Officer, Naval Science and Technological Laboratory (NSTL), Visakhapatnam. 

More from Sify: