Telangana: Cong MPs protest outside Parl

Last Updated: Mon, Apr 29, 2013 18:07 hrs

Five Congress Congress Members of Parliament (MPs) from the Telangana region of Andhra Pradesh on Monday started a 48-hour sit-in at the main gate of the Parliament in demand for a separate state.

The MPs who holding the sit-in are Siricilla Rajaiah, Gutha Sukhender Reddy, Manda Jagannatham, Ponnam Prabhakar and G Vivekanand.

Leader of Opposition in the Lok Sabha Sushma Swaraj met the leaders on Monday.

"They are sitting on a hunger strike for 48 hours," Swaraj told media.

"Since the Congress is not fulfilling the promises so these people are forced to protest...We support Telangana," she said.

Protests have long rocked Andhra Pradesh for a separate Telangana state exerting pressure on the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance (UPA) government at the Centre to expedite the bifurcation of the state, carving out the Telangana region with AP's current capital Hyderabad as its main city.

The Telangana region, which merged with Andhra Pradesh in 1956 against the wishes of many local residents, comprises of 10 districts - Adilabad, Hyderabad, Khammam, Karimnagar, Mahbubnagar, Medak, Nalgonda, Nizamabad, Rangareddy, and Warangal.

As the movement to divide the state gained momentum, politicians from coastal Andhra Pradesh and Rayalaseema regions want the state of 85 million people to remain unified, and especially oppose tearing out the IT hub Hyderabad that would affect the state's economy.

More from Sify: