Tharoor felicitates BCTA winners

Last Updated: Thu, Nov 08, 2012 13:24 hrs

Delhi, Nov 8 (IBNS) Winners of the second edition of "Best Chemistry Teachers Awards (BCTA) organized by Tata Chemicals Limited in association with the Association of Chemistry Teachers (ACT) and Confederation of Indian Industries (CII) were felicitated on Thursday by Shashi Tharoor, Union minister of state for higher education and Bharat Wakhlu, Resident Director, Tata Sons.

The winners felicitated in the four distinct award categories were:

1) Best Chemistry Teacher (Class XI/XII and equivalent) - Dr. Umesh Chandra Jain, Simpkins School (Affiliated to CBSE, New Delhi)

2) Best Chemistry Teacher (Bachelor´s Degree and equivalent) - Prof. Anshu Dandia, University of Rajasthan, Jaipur Chemistry Department

3) Best Chemistry Teacher (For Master´s Degree and above) - Prof. Chitta Ranjan Sinha, Jadavpur University, Kolkata

4) Best Chemistry Teacher for promotion of Chemistry as a subject - Dr. Keshav Annappa Bulbule, KLE Society´s S. Nijalingappa College, Rajajinagar, Bangalore

Speaking about the awards, R Mukundan, Managing Director, Tata Chemicals, said, "These teachers are responsible for moulding young minds and shaping their future in the field of Chemistry. We're very pleased that these awards have been well received amongst the education fraternity."

Prof. Chitta Ranjan Sinha from Jadavpur University, Kolkata, who won the 'Best Chemistry Teacher 2012 in the Post-Graduate category' said, "It is an honor to be a part of BCTA instituted by Tata Chemicals. As we know Chemistry is a complex science and is related to overall growth of the society, an initiative like this would encourage chemistry among the young minds."

'Best Chemistry Teacher 2012 for promotion of Chemistry as a subject' was won by Dr. Keshav Annappa Bulbule, Professor at Nijalingappa College from Bangalore.

Bulbule said: "An initiative like BCTA very well recognizes our contribution towards the development of the Nation through science in general and chemistry in particular. I pledge to motivate other teachers and students in the field of Chemistry."

Professor Anshu Dandia from the University of Rajasthan, Jaipur, who was felicitated with the 'Best Chemistry Teacher 2012 in the Under-Graduate category', said, "As I look at my award, I am reminded of the many challenges I experienced during my first teaching year.

"For me teaching can be defined as a passion for children, a desire for a better future, a yearning for knowledge and a commitment to community. Institution of such awards not only encourages younger Chemistry teachers to do well, but also popularize chemistry education."

Dr. Umesh Chandra Jain from Simpkins School, Agra, who won the Best Chemistry Teacher 2012 for Class XI and XII, said, "I can foresee a bright future for budding chemistry teachers as well as students who would like to pursue a career in Chemistry."

More from Sify: