TMC sitting MLA Arjun Singh joins BJP

Last Updated: Thu, Mar 14, 2019 16:01 hrs
Arjun Singh

Kolkata: In a jolt to Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee ahead of the ensuing General Elections, Arjun Singh, a sitting MLA of TMC, on Thursday joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) here.

Singh represents North 24 Pargana's Bhatpara constituency.

He was unhappy with the party decision of providing Lok Sabha ticket to Dinesh Trivedi from Barrackpore as he himself wanted to fight from there.

On Tuesday, former TMC MP Anupam Hazra also joined the BJP in the presence of party leaders Kailash Vijayvargiya and Mukul Roy.

Congress MLA Dulal Chandra Bar and CPM MLA Khagen Murmu have also joined the BJP.