Tripura elections: Fact file

Last Updated: Tue, Feb 12, 2013 10:10 hrs

Elections to the state assembly in Tripura are slated for Feb 14. Ballots will be counted Feb 28. Some facts at a glance:

*Total seats: 60 (20 reserved for the Scheduled Tribes and 10 reserved for the Scheduled Castes)

*Total population: 36,71,032 (2011 census)

*Total voters: 23,55,446

*Women electorate: 11,56,476

*First time voters: 53,580

*Total candidates: 249 (women 15)

*Total candidates in 2008: 313 (women 31)

*Constituency with most candidates : Karbook, Surma, Karamcharra (seven candidates in each seat)

*Constituency with least number of candidates : Sonamura, Jolaibari (two candidates in each seat)

*Political parties: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Communist Party of India (CPI), Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M), Congress, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (CPI-ML), Indigenous Nationalist Party of Twipra (INPT), FB, Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP), IPFT, Amara Bangali.

*Electronic Voting Machines: 3,772

*Total Number of polling stations: 3,041 (2391 in 2008 polls)

*Voter turnout in 2008 polls: 92 percent

*2008 party position: CPI-M-46, RSP-2, and CPI-1, Congress-10 and INPT-1

More from Sify: