Two uncapped players in Australia's squad for India

Last Updated: Thu, Jan 31, 2013 09:30 hrs

Melbourne, Jan 31 (IANS) Cricket Australia's (CA) National Selection Panel (NSP) Thursday named two uncapped players, Glenn Maxwell and Moises Henriques, in the 17-man squad to tour India for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy beginning Feb 22 in Chennai.

Commenting on the squad, national selector John Inverarity said: "This squad has the flexibility that will be required for the varying conditions expected in India and it will provide valuable experience to a number of young players."

"The squad includes a spin bowling all-rounder in Maxwell and a medium-fast all-rounder in Henriques. Xavier Doherty also returns to the Test squad. We certainly feel he is much improved in the longer format of the game since he made his Test debut in 2010-11 against England."

The Australia squad for the four-Test series in India: Michael Clarke (Captain), Shane Watson (Vice-captain), Jackson Bird, Ed Cowan, Xavier Doherty, Moises Henriques, Phillip Hughes, Mitchell Johnson, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Glenn Maxwell, James Pattinson, Peter Siddle, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner.

Australia will play the four Tests in Chennai (Feb 22-26), Hyderabad (Mar 2-6), Mohali (Mar 14-18) and New Delhi (Mar 22-26).

More from Sify: