UP assembly: SP leader elected unopposed

Last Updated: Sat, Jul 14, 2012 18:35 hrs

Samajwadi Party (SP) nominee Bukkal Nawab was elected unopposed to the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council, media reports said on Saturday.

Nawab was elected to the seat that fell vacant after former Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) supremo Mayawati resigned from it due to her election to the Rajya Sabha.

He was elected unopposed after no other candidate filed nomination paper on the last day of filing it on Friday.

The tenure of the SP leader will end on May 6, 2016.

Mayawati filed her nomination for the Rajya Sabha after her party was defeated by the SP in the crucial assembly polls earlier this year.

The SP stormed to power in the 2012 assembly polls after registering a 224 seat victory in the 403 member assembly, ousting the Mayawati government and also negating the effect of Congress leader Rahul Gandhi in the north Indian state.

More from Sify: