Voters unkind to relative-candidates of 'Netas' in Bihar poll

Last Updated: Wed, Nov 24, 2010 15:14 hrs
Bihar re-elects Nitish Kumar as CM

Patna: Barring JD(U), Bihar voters rejected a large number of sons and wives of political leaders of other parties which gave tickets to them in the assembly elections.

For JD(U) the winners are Sanjay Kumar, son of Hajipur Lok Sabha member and former Chief Minister Ramsunder Das and Rahul Sharma, son of Jehanabad Lok Sabha member Jagdish Sharma.

Food Minister Narendra Singh's son Ajay Pratap Singh won from Jamui on JD(U) ticket. The seat was once represented by his brother Abhay Singh who committed suicide a few months ago.

Annu Shukla, wife of incarcerated Lalganj MLA, Munna Shukla, contested her husband's place Lalganj and won on a JD-U ticket. Sarfaraj Alam, son of controversial party leader and former Union Minister Md Taslimuddin, won as a JD(U) nominee from Jokihat in Araria district.

Praveen Amanullah, wife of Principal Secretary Cabinet Coordination Department Afzal Amanullah, emerged victorious from Sahebpur Kamal.

In contrast to JD(U) success, Dr Firaj Fatmi, son of senior RJD leader and former union minister M A A Fatmi, and Rana Randhir, son of former minister in Rabri Devi cabinet Sitaram Singh, who contested on RJD tickets from Keoti and Madhuban assembly constituencies respectively, failed to ensure their victory.

Congress took the gamble of going it alone but Rahul Gandhi's magic, which worked (rpt) which worked in Uttar Pradesh, failed this time in Bihar with the party recording its worst-ever performance in assembly elections in the state in last 10 years.

The party's tally was reduced from 9 in the last elections to four this time and to add to its humiliation, both the PCC chief Mehboob Ali Qaiser and the CLP leader Prakash Ram.

Rahul Gandhi had undertaken a whirlwind tour of the state in this election and visited the state seven times addressing as many as 19 election meetings and rallies.

The places he went included Samastipur, Saharsa, Katihar, Supaul, Araria, Sitamarhi, Mujfaffarpur, Begusarai, Bhagalpur, Bachcharwa, Munger, Kahalgaon, Barbigha, Hisua, Shekhpura, Buxar, Bhabua, Sasaram and Obra.

Similarly Congress President Sonia Gandhi addressed rallies in Kishanganj, Motihari, Begusarai, Bhagalpur, Buxar and Bhabua during her three visits to the state.

With Rahul Gandhi evincing keen interest in Bihar poll, the hopes among the Congressmen were high.

Except the former PCC chief Sadanand Singh, the others who won this time are not well-known faces. Former PCC chiefs Ramjatan Sinha and Avdhesh Singh have also lost.

Qaiser was was appointed just before the elections replacing the incumbent Anil Sharma apparently with an eye on Muslims, which constitute around 16 percent of the state's voting population.

Son of former union minister Raghunath Jha, contested on RJD ticket from Sheohar and was defeated. Anirudh Prasad alias Sadhu Yadav, brother-in-law of Lalu Prasad and a former RJD MP, contested on a Congress ticket this time and lost.

Ranjeet Ranjan, wife of incarcerated MP Pappu Yadav, contested as Congress nominee from Bihariganj in Madhepura and bite the dust. Pappu Yadav has been given life sentence in the murder case of CPI-M MLA from Purnia Ajit Sarkar.

Congress fielded Vijay Kumar Ram, son of sitting JD(U) MP Purnamasi Ram for Harsidhi seat in East Champaran district but he too was humbled. Anunnaya Kumar Singh, son of former union minister Usha Sinha, also could not win as a Congress candidate in Paroo.

Similarly, LJP Chief Ramvilas Paswan fielded his both brothers -- Pashupati Kumar Paras and former MP Ramchandra Paswan from Alauli and Kusheshwar Asthan but both lost.

BJP accomodated Sudhakar Singh, son of RJD MP Jagdanand Singh, in its list. Sudhakar contested from Ramgarh and lost. The seat was earlier held by RJD leader Jagdanand Singh for five times in a row before his election to Lok Sabha from Buxar in 2009.

More from Sify: