Women's WC: Cuttack joins Mumbai as venue

Last Updated: Fri, Jan 25, 2013 16:44 hrs

Mumbai, Jan 25 (IBNS) The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Friday announced that the ICC Women's World Cup (WC) 2013 will be staged in two India cities - with Mumbai still hosting the majority of games and some group and Super Six Stage matches being relocated to the Odisha city of Cuttack.

On the announcement of the full schedule of matches today, ICC Chief Executive David Richardson said: "I am grateful for all the support ICC has received from the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) during a difficult situation, which was not of cricket's making. We are also indebted to the Odisha Cricket Association for making excellent grounds available at such short notice.

"We also wish to thank the competing teams and Member Boards for their co-operation in allowing both the ICC and BCCI the opportunity to explore the complicated logistics so that we can ensure that this event takes place on the dates scheduled in India."

Pakistan's matches will be held at the Barabati Stadium, Cuttack. The final remains scheduled for the Brabourne Stadium, the home of the Cricket Club of India (CCI) in Mumbai on 17 February.

Tournament schedule


Group A - England (A1), India (A2), West Indies (A3), Sri Lanka (A4)

Group B - Australia (B1), New Zealand (B2), Pakistan (B3), South Africa (B4)

Warm-up matches (to start at 0900 India time)

28 Jan - England v SA, CCI; India v New Zealand, BKC; West Indies v Australia, MIG; New Local XI v Sri Lanka, Mumbai Police Gymkhana. Pakistan v Local XI, Barabati Stadium, Cuttack

29 Jan - India v Australia, CCI; West Indies v Local XI, Mumbai Police Gymkhana; England v New Zealand, BKC; Sri Lanka v South Africa, MIG

30 Jan - Pakistan v Local XI, Barabati Stadium, Cuttack

Tournament schedule (All day matches begin at 0900 while day/night fixtures start at 1430 India time)

31 Jan - India v West Indies (D/N), CCI

1 Feb - England v Sri Lanka, CCI; New Zealand v South Africa, Driems Cricket Ground, Cuttack; Australia v Pakistan, Barabati Stadium, Cuttack

3 Feb - India v England, CCI; Sri Lanka v West Indies, MIG; New Zealand v Pakistan, Barabati Stadium, Cuttack; Australia v South Africa, Driems Cricket Ground, Cuttack

5 Feb - India v Sri Lanka, (D/N) CCI; England v West Indies, BKC; Pakistan v South Africa, Barabati Stadium, Cuttack; Australia v New Zealand, Driems Cricket Ground, Cuttack

Super Six Stage

Provided they qualify, each of the top three teams will retain its ranking from the group stage through to the Super Sixes, regardless of their finishing position in the group.

For example, England will be ranked A1 whether they finish first, second or third at the end of the group stage.

If the fourth ranked team in a group qualifies for the Super Six stage, they will adopt the ranking of the team that they have replaced.

For example if Sri Lanka qualifies at the expense of England, Sri Lanka would follow the fixtures for A1 in the Super Six stage.

7 Feb -A4 v B4 (7th v 8th Play Off), Driems Cricket Ground, Cuttack*

8 Feb - A1 v B1, CCI; A2 v B2, BKC; A3 v B3, Barabati Stadium, Cuttack

10 Feb - A2 v B1, CCI; A1 v B3, Barabati Stadium, Cuttack

11 Feb - A3 v B2, CCI

13 Feb - A1 v B2 (D/N), CCI; A3 v B1, MIG; A2 v B3, Barabati Stadium, Cuttack

15 Feb - 5th v 6th Play Off, Barabati Stadium, Cuttack; 3rd v 4th Play Off, CCI

17 Feb - Final (D/N), CCI


D/N = Day/night fixture

CCI = Cricket Club of India

MIG = Middle Income Group Ground

BKC = Bandra Kulra Complex

Barabati Stadium in Cuttack

Driems Cricket Ground in Cuttack

* If Pakistan features in this match then it will relocate to Barabati Stadium

More from Sify: