Govt names next CBI chief in a hurry; Neeraj Kumar withdraws claim for CBI top post

Last Updated: Fri, Nov 23, 2012 15:05 hrs

Reports say that the government hurriedly appointed Ranjit Sinha as the next CBI director late on Thursday with a view to evade the Central Administrative Tribunal that was expected to hear Delhi Police commissioner Neeraj Kumar’s petition for the top post on Friday.

Neeraj Kumar had last week dragged the government to the tribunal, complaining that he’d been unfairly overlooked for the post on the grounds that a government official he had arrested for bribery then accused him of criminal intimidation and illegal confinement. But on Friday, a day after senior IPS officer Ranjit was appointed as the new CBI director, Neeraj withdrew his plea from CAT against the government's decision to not consider his name for the top post in the probe agency.

A bench of Central Administrative Tribunal (CAT) comprising Chairman Syed Rafat Alam and member R C Panda allowed Kumar's counsel to withdraw the application, observing that with the appointment of Sinha, a 1974-batch IPS officer and current Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) Director General, the plea has become infructuous.

"Application dismissed as withdraw," the bench said.

Kumar had moved the tribunal aggrieved over non-inclusion of his name among the three officers shortlisted by the Central Vigilance Commission (CVC) for being considered for the post of the next CBI Director.

Kumar, a 1976 batch IPS officer, in his application had questioned the procedure for picking the three officers and excluding his name for the top post in country's premier investigating agency.

The CVC-headed selection committee had cleared a panel of three senior IPS officers--Sinha, DG of National Investigation Agency S C Sinha (1975-batch IPS officer of Haryana cadre) and former Uttar Pradesh DG Atul (1976-batch IPS officer of UP cadre).

An official order had on Thursday said Sinha has been appointed as CBI Director for a "period of two years from the date of assumption of office". He will take over from the present CBI Director A P Singh who is retiring on November 30.

More from Sify: