Zubin Mehta to be honoured with Tagore Award for Cultural Harmony

Last Updated: Wed, Jul 10, 2013 15:00 hrs

Tagore Award for Cultural Harmony, 2013 is being conferred on noted maestro Zubin Mehta.

A high-level Jury under the chairmanship of Prime Minister, Dr. Manmohan Singh and comprising the Chief Justice of India, Justice Altamas Kabir, Leader of Opposition in Lok Sabha, Sushma Swaraj, and Gopal Krishna Gandhi after detailed discussions on 4th July, unanimously decided to select Zubin Mehta to be the second recipient of the Tagore Award, 2013 in recognition of his outstanding contribution to cultural harmony.

The annual award was instituted by the Government of India during the commemoration of 150th birth anniversary of Gurudev Rabindranath Tagore.

The first Tagore Award was conferred on Pt. Ravi Shankar, the Indian sitar maestro in 2012.

The award carries an amount of Rs. one crore, a citation in a scroll, a plaque as well as an exquisite traditional handicraft/handloom item.

The award is open to all persons regardless of nationality, race, language, caste, creed or sex. (ANI)

More from Sify: