WebSify
Follow us on
login
Mail
Print

ICC owns up to 'DRS howler' over Kallis' wrong lbw decision during Newlands Test

Source : ANI
Last Updated: Sat, Feb 16, 2013 11:10 hrs

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has owned up to yet another Decision Review System (DRS) blunder, which transpired on the second day of the Newlands Test between South Africa and Pakistan when Jacques Kallis was wrongly adjudged leg before wicket after he had asked for a review, originally for caught out.

Kallis was given out caught at short leg off spinner Saeed Ajmal by umpire Steve Davis but the batsman immediately sought a review, which went to television umpire Billy Bowden, Sport24 reports.

Replays showed the ball had not touched Kallis' bat before looping to Azhar Ali.

The sequence of events after that was not clear but after numerous replays Kallis was given out leg before wicket, the paper said.

That was because the pitch map replay indicated the ball would have brushed the outside of his leg stump, which is within the area known as umpire's call where the benefit of the doubt goes according to the decision made by the on-field umpire, it reported.

Kallis made two as South Africa struggled to 139 for five in reply to Pakistan's 338.

The ICC issued a statement from Dubai acknowledging that an honest error had been made.

The ICC said the umpires followed usual umpiring principles in giving Kallis out leg before wicket on umpire's call, and the review was for the batsman out caught, adding this is because the normal principle is that an appeal covers all forms of dismissal.

The ICC added the playing conditions state that when the third umpire observes that the batsman could be out by another mode of dismissal, the decision being reviewed using DRS should be as if the batsman had been originally given not out.

The ICC further said in this instance Kallis, as the point of impact was umpire's call, should not have been given out.

Before the ICC statement was issued, South African team manager Mohammad Moosajee said he could not comment in detail because there was a code of conduct regarding the DRS, the paper added. (ANI)



blog comments powered by Disqus
most popular on facebook
talking point on sify sports