''On numerous occasions he may avoid being run out at the opposite end by gaining this false start. Mankad was so scrupulously fair that he first of all warned Brown before taking any action. There was absolutely no feeling in the matter as far as we were concerned for we considered it quite a legitimate part of the game. I always make it a practice when occupying the position of a non striker to keep my bat behind the crease until I see the ball in the air. In that way one cannot possibly be run out and I commend this practice to other players.’’
Twenty one years later Mankad’s run out of Brown was recalled when the West Indian fast bowler Charlie Griffith ran out Australia’s Ian Redpath in a similar manner on the final day of the fourth Test at Adelaide. The difference was that Griffith had not warned Redpath beforehand.
With the advent of ODIs and Twenty20, it became a familiar sight to see the non-striker leave the crease even as the bowler was about to deliver. Sanity has since prevailed with the ICC ruling that the bowler can run out the non-striker for backing up too far even as the bowler has not completed the delivery.
In Image: Don Bradman