Irani Trophy: Sehwag to lead Rest of India

Last Updated: Tue, Jan 29, 2013 15:00 hrs

Mumbai, Jan 29 (IANS) Virender Sehwag will lead the Rest of India squad against Ranji Trophy champions Mumbai in the Irani Cup match to be played Feb 6-10 at the Wankhede Stadium here.

Temperamental fast bowler Sreesanth, who has 10 wickets from four Ranji matches, and feisty off-spinner Harbhajan Singh, who bagged 16 wickets from five matches, have also found a place in the side.

Manoj Tiway, who has recovered from a side strain, and openers Shikhar Dhawan and M Vijay havs also been include while Punjab batsman Jiwanjot Singh, the leading run-scorer this Ranji season, was unlucky to miss out.

Ishwar Pandey, highest-wicket taker in Ranji, along with Suresh Raina and Shami Ahmed have also been included.

Abhinav Mukund will captain the Board President's XI for the first warm-up match Australia will play before the four-Test series, starting Feb 22 in Chennai. The two-day game will also be held in Chennai from Feb 12.

Australia will play their second warm-up from Feb 16-18 in Chennai against India A that will be led by Shikhar Dhawan. Rohit Sharma, Tiwary, Ajinkya Rahane, Vinay Kumar and Jiwanjot have been named in the squad.

Rest of India: Virender Sehwag (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, M Vijay, Manoj Tiwary, Suresh Raina, Wriddhiman Saha, Harbhajan Singh, S Sreesanth, Pragyan Ojha, Ishwar Pandey, Abhimanyu Mithun, Ambati Rayudu, Shami Ahmed, Jalaj Saxena

Board President's XI: Abhinav Mukund (captain), Robin Uthappa, Ambati Rayudu, Mandeep Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Parthiv Patel, Stuart Binny, Sarabjit Ladda, Parvez Rassol, Shami Ahmed, Parvinder Awana, Kamlesh Makwana.

India A: Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Jiwanjyot Singh, Rohit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary, Ajinkya Rahane, C Gautam, Rakesh Dhruv, Jalaj Saxena, Manpreet Gony, Vinay Kumar, Dhawal Kulkarni, Ashok Menaria.

More from Sify: