Toyota cricket championship starts Saturday

Last Updated: Wed, Feb 20, 2013 14:00 hrs

Aligarh, Feb 20 (IANS) To encourage cricket at the varsity level, NDTV and the ministry of human resource development have joined hands to launch the Toyota Cricket Championship (TUCC) from Saturday.

The tournament has been designed in a 20-20 format. It will feature the top eight university cricket teams.

The participating teams for the 2013 Championship, which have been selected from four regional zones, are Aligarh Muslim University, Jamia Millia Islamia, Awdhesh Pratap Singh University, Veer Bahadur Singh Purvanchal University, Mumbai University, Jiwaji University, University of Madras and Jain University. All the matches will be televised live on NDTV.

More from Sify: