A decade later, India clinch 2nd ODI series win in NZ

Last Updated: Mon, Jan 28, 2019 16:56 hrs
India Win 3rd ODI Vs New Zealand

By winning the third ODI by 7 wickets at Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui, India have won just their second bilateral series in New Zealand. This, after taking an unassailable 3-0 lead in the 5-match series. This is India's second successive ODI series win overseas, having also clinched their first-ever series win in Australia earlier this month.

After dismissing the hosts for 243, India chased down a target of 244 with 42 balls remaining. Rohit Sharma top-scored with 62, Virat Kohli got 60, while Ambati Rayudu (40*) and Dinesh Karthik (38*) made sure they took the team to the target.

The series win somewhat improves India's record in New Zealand. This was their eighth visit to New Zealand for an ODI series, but the Asian giants did not have the best of results in the past.

They have suffered series defeats on four occasions, drawn a couple of them and their lone series win came exactly a decade ago when MS Dhoni led the side to a 3-1 win.


Season Mat Won Lost Winner
1975/76 2 0 2 NZ
1980/81 2 0 2 NZ
1993/94 4 2 2 Series Drawn
1998/99 5 2 2 Series Drawn
2002/03 7 2 5 NZ
2008/09 5 3 1 India
2013/14 5 0 4 NZ
*2018/19 5 3 0 India

* Two matches still to be played in the series

Now that the series is won, Team India will look to embarrass the Kiwis even more with a clean-sweep. That will also be kind of a revenge as the Indians were thrashed 0-4 in the five match series the last time they were in New Zealand in 2014.