Agar takes four as Australia hammer Presidents XI

Last Updated: Tue, Sep 12, 2017 18:07 hrs
Steve Smith scored a fine fifty during Australia's warm-up game

Ashton Agar took four wickets as Australia beat Indian Board Presidents XI by 103 runs to win the only one-off warm-up game at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on Tuesday.

Chasing a mammoth target of 348 runs to win, Presidents XI lost wickets at regular intervals as they were bundled out for 244.

Presidents XI were off to a poor start as they lost Rahul Tripathi for just 10 runs on board.

However, Shreevats Goswami (43) and Mayank Agarwal (42) did the repair work and forged a 79-run stand for the second wicket. Just when the duo was looking to stretch their partnership, Adam Zampa removed Agarwal.

Couple of overs later, the well-set Goswami too departed leaving the home side in all sorts of trouble.

The responsibility of bailing the team out of trouble fell on skipper Gurkeerat Singh Mann and Nitish Rana. However, a horrible mix-up saw Rana fall short of his crease as Australia tightened screws on an inexperienced batting line-up.

With the asking rate climbing, Gurkeerat broke away from the shackles with a six and a couple of boundaries. Sensing an opportunity to further put the pressure on the hosts, Steve Smith brought in Ashton Agar and the spinner delivered straight away.

Agar first went on to pick Shivam Chaudhary and then removed Gurkeerat to put Australia firmly on top.

Odisha Ranji Trophy skipper Govind Poddar batting down the order hardly troubled the scorers as he fell for a duck, giving Agar his third wicket.

Presidents XI were left reeling at 156/8 and the departure of Poddar meant Australia were cruising towards victory.

Akshay Karnewar (40) and Kushang Patel (41) managed to keep the visitors in the park for some time but soon Agar picked his fourth handing Australia a convincing win.

Earlier, electing to bat first, Australia posted a mammoth score of 347 for the loss of seven wickets.

It was a wonderful outing for the likes of David Warner (64), Steve Smith (55), Travis Head (65) and Marcus Stoinis (76) who all registered half-centuries. Mathew Wade too had a good hit with a 24-ball 45.

For the hosts, Washington Sundar and Kushang Patel shared four wickets among themselves while Avesh Khan, Kulwant Khejroliya and Akshay Karnewar picked a wicket each.

Brief Scores: Australia 347/7; Warner (64), Smith (55), Head (65), Washington Sundar (2/23) beat India Board Presidents XI; Shreevats Goswami (43), Mayank Agarwal (42), Ashton Agar (4/44) by 103 runs.

More from Sify: