Australia's Hussey out shy of double century

Last Updated: Sat, Nov 27, 2010 09:30 hrs

Brisbane: Australia's Mike Hussey was dismissed for 195 on the third afternoon of the first Ashes test against England on Saturday.

The 35-year-old had put together a record partnership of 307 runs for the sixth wicket with Brad Haddin before the wicketkeeper was caught by Paul Collingwood off the bowling of Graeme Swann for 136.

Three overs later and facing a delivery from Steve Finn, Hussey miscued the pull shot that he had played with such distinction throughout his 490-minute innings to enable Alastair Cook to take the catch into the sun at midwicket.


Hussey's place in the Australia side had been called into question after a poor run of form and, although he rode his luck on Saturday morning, he answered his critics in fine style with his best career innings.

He hit 26 fours and one six in his 330-ball knock.

The partnership with Haddin was the highest in a test match at the Gabba, beating Don Bradman and Lindsay Hassett's 276 for Australia in the 1946-47 Ashes series.

The pair transformed Australia's prospects in the first of the five Ashes tests, taking the hosts from 143-5 on Friday to a comfortable lead.

Hussey brought up his 12th test century with a drive through the covers soon after Australia had passed England's first innings total of 260 with five wickets in hand.

The lefthander's euphoria was obvious to everyone in the ground as he pumped his fists then raised his bat and helmet to take the ovation from the crowd before embracing Haddin.

His 150 came courtesy of a fielding error by Swann as England struggled in the afternoon sun.

England had their chances to end his innings earlier and will rue some bad luck.

Record partnership puts Australia in charge

Hussey survived an inside edge on the very first delivery he faced with the ball falling just short of the fielder.

Having added just one run to his overnight total of 81, he was given out lbw to James Anderson but a review of the TV pictures showed the ball had pitched outside leg stump and umpire Aleem Dar's decision was overturned.

He was fortunate that England had already used the two umpire reviews they are allowed in each innings soon afterwards when Dar ignored another loud shout for lbw from Anderson.

Television replays showed he would have been given out had an appeal been available and used by England.

More from Sify: