BCCI announces same squad for Kolkata Test, Dinda replaces injured Yadav

Last Updated: Tue, Nov 27, 2012 08:30 hrs

Despite India suffering a humiliating ten-wicket loss to England in the second test in Mumbai, the selection committee of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Tuesday decided to retain the same squad for the third test to be played at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

However, it has been announced that West Bengal fast bowler Ashok Dinda will replace injured Umesh Yadav in the squad.

The squad for third test is: M.S. Dhoni (captain and wicket-keeper), Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Cheteshwar Pujara, R. Ashwin, Ashok Dinda, Pragyan Ojha, Ajinkya Rahane, Harbhajan Singh, Ishant Sharma, Murali Vijay and Zaheer Khan.

The two teams will now travel to Kolkata for the third Test, which begins from December 5.

Media reports suggested that the selectors have put non-performing players on notice by announcing a squad only for the third test, and not for the third and fourth test as was originally planned. ANI)

More from Sify: