BCCI title sponsorship rights go for base price

Last Updated: Thu, Oct 03, 2013 09:09 hrs

The title sponsorships for the Indian cricket board's international series and domestic tournaments were Thursday sold to Star India Pvt. Ltd. and ESPN Software India Pvt. Ltd. for a base price of Rs.2 crore per international match for a period of six months.

Given the instability in India Inc., the price was much lower than what Airtel was paying to the BCCI for each international match till March 31 when the telecom major refused to renew the contract. Airtel paid Rs.3.33 crore match. 

The marketing committee of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) met here at the Cricket Centre, Mumbai, early Thursday morning to receive the bids made for the sponsorship rights.

"The marketing committee has awarded the Title Sponsorship Rights for all series to be played in India in the 2013-14 season to Star India Pvt. Ltd, and ESPN Software India Pvt. Ltd. at a fee of Rs.2 crore per international match," BCCI secretary Sanjay Patel said in a statement.

He said the bidders had the option of bidding for either the series between India and Australia, or the series between India and the West Indies, or both.

With Bharti Airtel deciding not to renew its sponsorship, the BCCi last month invited tenders for sponsorship rights of its international and domestic matches at home for a period of just six months starting Oct 1.

Airtel, which was paying Rs.3.33 core for each match, refused to renew its contract that expired March 31, prompting the BCCI to look for new sponsors for international series and domestic matches played at home. Airtel had signed the contract Sep 1, 2010.

The two international series during the period are against Australia and the West Indies. India will be playing seven ODIs and one T20 against Australia from next month while the series against the West Indies comprise two Tests and three ODIs.

Batting great Sachin Tendulkar will also be playing his landmark 200th Test against the West Indies.

The sponsorship rights for the domestic matches will extend to Irani Cup, Ranji Trophy, Duleep Trophy, Vijay Hazare Knock-Out, Prof. D.B. Deodhar Trophy and Raj Singh Dungarpur Trophy.

The domestic series will also include visiting 'A' teams' matches, practice matches of international visiting teams and any other List 'A' matches, as may be finalised and advised by the BCCI.

More from Sify: