Chautala, Bhanot elected unopposed to IOA

Last Updated: Fri, Nov 30, 2012 10:01 hrs

Abhay Singh Chautala and Lalit Bhanot have been elected unopposed as the President and Secretary General of the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) respectively.

The controversial Bhanot had been jailed along with former IOA President Suresh Kalmadi following the scam related to the Commonwealth Games.

However a sword of Damocles still hangs over the new office bearers as the International Olympic Committee (IOC) has threatened to suspend the IOA if it followed the Government's Sports Code.

The IOA has rushed a delegation comprising Hockey India Secretary General Narendra Batra and lawyer RK Anand to the IOC headquarters of Lausanne to explain its position.

More from Sify: