CLT20 set for explosive tournament

Last Updated: Thu, Sep 27, 2012 11:17 hrs

The Champions League Twenty20 (CLT20) 2012 is set to be an explosive tournament after confirmation of each team's final squad.

Team line-ups are again brimming with the world's elite T20 talent as the champion domestic teams from a record eight countries chase the US$2.5m first prize from a total pool (including participation fees) of US$13m.

N. Srinivasan, Chairman, CLT20 Governing Council, said: "The fourth edition of the Champions League Twenty20 is only a few weeks away. The squads that will be playing in the tournament speak for themselves. They comprise the finest cricketing talent on this planet."

"We are in for some extraordinary cricket, in what will surely be a thriller of a competition."

Dean Kino, CLT20 Governing Council Member and Director of Legal and Business Affairs, said: "Last year's tournament showed the fine line between making the finals and early elimination.

"Given the high stakes and small margin for error in the Qualifier and Group Stage, some of world cricket's biggest names who are eligible for more than one team have been in high demand."

"According to CLT20 rules, if a player qualifies for more than one team, all those qualifying teams can nominate that player.

"When a player decides to play for an 'away' team rather than his 'home' team, the team from the country he is eligible to represent in international cricket, the 'away' team must pay US$150,000 compensation to the 'home' team," he said.

Kieron Pollard, Mike Hussey, the Morkel brothers and Sunil Narine, were among the nine players named initially by more than one squad which required each player to nominate the team they would play for. All players listed below have chosen to play for their 'away' team.

Players nominated by more than one team:
. Dwayne Bravo - Trinidad & Tobago* / Chennai Super Kings

. Francois du Plessis - Titans* / Chennai Super Kings

. Sunil Narine - Trinidad & Tobago* / Kolkata Knight Riders

. Mike Hussey - Perth Scorchers* / Chennai Super Kings

. Mitch Johnson - Perth Scorchers* / Mumbai Indians

. Brett Lee - Sydney Sixers* / Kolkata Knight Riders

. Albie Morkel - Titans* / Chennai Super Kings

. Morne Morkel - Titans* / Delhi Daredevils

. Kieron Pollard - Trinidad & Tobago* / Mumbai Indians

Note: *designates 'home' team

The 2012 Champions League Twenty20 will feature a record 14 champion teams from India (4), Australia (2), South Africa (2), England (2), New Zealand (1), Sri Lanka (1), West Indies (1) and Pakistan (1) for the first time. Eight teams have automatically qualified for the Group Stage while the remaining six teams will compete for the remaining two places via a Qualifier.

The Qualifier will start on 9 October before the Group Stage starts on 13 October. The Final will be played on Sunday 28 October in Johannesburg. The full match schedule is available from

Last year's Champion Mumbai Indians and 2010 Champion Chennai Super Kings headline the returning teams. Both teams will be playing in their third CLT20 tournament along with Trinidad & Tobago, the 2009 CLT20 Finalist. Of the other teams, Highveld Lions, Auckland Aces, Delhi Daredevils and Kolkata Knight Riders are making return visits.

Six teams will be making their first appearance in the tournament - England's Hampshire and Yorkshire, South Africa's Titans, Pakistan's Sialkot Stallions and Australia's two new Big Bash League Twenty20 teams, the Sydney Sixers and Perth Scorchers.

More from Sify: