DD vs CSK preview: Daredevils take on dangerous Super Kings

Last Updated: Fri, May 25, 2012 10:25 hrs
DC vs CSK result: Jadeja's all-round guide Chennai to easy win over Deccan

Which team will be more confident heading into the second qualifier at Chennai? It is a tough question to answer, as it usually is in this format especially when the contest is between 2 teams touted to be favourites in the tournament. Delhi Daredevils were undoubtedly the strongest team in the league stages but slipped up against Kolkata Knight Riders in Pune. On the other hand Chennai Super Kings made a backdoor entry into the play offs but raised the game when it was needed with a thumping win over Mumbai Indians in the eliminator. CSK and DD have met twice in the tournament and won one game each; Delhi thumped Chennai at the Kotla, while CSK returned the favour at Chepauk, the venue for the qualifier.

Chennai Super Kings: Pressure gets the best out of this franchise from Chennai. When it comes to crunch situations, there is no side which performs better and they do it consistently better than the other sides. It helps when the side is led by a captain who becomes a completely different player in do-or-die situations; MS Dhoni was not in the best of forms in the league stages but made everyone forget that with a stunning display of stroke-making in the game against Mumbai Indians. CSK will also be happy with the performances of Badrinath and Hussey, who rescued the side from dire situations in the previous match. CSK have lesser worries in the bowling department; barring Hilfenhaus,all the other bowlers did a good job in the previous game. Hilfenhaus, the Man of the Match in the previous clash against Delhi, will be hoping that it was a one off game and will look to forget it.

Player to watch out for:

Suresh Raina: Raina was out for a duck in his very first ball in the eliminator match against Mumbai and will be keen to contribute. This is the first time he hasn't gone past 400 in an IPL season and will be looking to correct that record.

Delhi Daredevils: Delhi did all the hard work in the league stages and will be keen to not mess it up in the knock-outs. They finished above the rest in the league rounds and that has given them another chance despite the loss to KKR. Delhi rely heavily on the top 4 - Sehwag, Warner, Mahela and Taylor and will be hoping that at least a couple of them fire. They made a tactical mistake against KKR by playing Ross too low down the order and will be looking to correct that mistake.

In the bowling department, Delhi rely a lot on pace, quite contrary to the other teams in the tournament. Morne Morkel, Umesh Yadav and Varun Aaron form the pace battery and have produced the results so far. They may be tempted to play an extra spinner in Nadeem, but it will be interesting to see if Sehwag drops a pacer to accommodate him.

Player to watch out for:

David Warner: Warner has had a quiet tournament after his century against Deccan Chargers. He will have good memories of Chepauk - the left hander smashed an aggressive century against the same opponents in the Champions League. Can he repeat the effort?

Injury updates:

Subramaniam Badrinath injured his ankle while fielding in the last match and it remains to be seen if he will be fit for the match at Chennai.

Irfan Pathan split his webbing in the KKR match and his fate is not known as well.

Final word:

Delhi Daredevils finished as league toppers in the 2009 IPL season but messed it up in the knock-out stages. They will be hoping that history doesn't repeat itself. Chennai, on the other hand, will do all it can to give themselves a spot at the finals, in their bid to claim a hat-trick of IPL trophies.


Delhi Daredevils (From): Virender Sehwag(c), Varun Aaron, Ajit Agarkar, Robin Bist, Gulam Bodi, Doug Bracewell, Unmukt Chand, Aaron Finch, Mahela Jayawardene, Glenn Maxwell, Morne Morkel, Shahbaz Nadeem, Yogesh Nagar, Prashant Naik, Naman Ojha(w), Irfan Pathan, Kevin Pietersen, Andre Russell, Aavishkar Salvi, Ross Taylor, Roelof van der Merwe, Venugopal Rao, Vikas Mishra, David Warner, Tejashwi Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Travis Birt, Colin Ingram, Manprit Juneja, Puneet Bisht, Pawan Negi, Kuldeep Raval

Chennai Super Kings (From): MS Dhoni(w/c), Michael Hussey, Murali Vijay, Suresh Raina, S Badrinath, Albie Morkel, Dwayne Bravo, George Bailey, Srikkanth Anirudha, Faf du Plessis, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ben Hilfenhaus, Ravindra Jadeja, Shadab Jakati, Joginder Sharma, Suraj Randiv, Nuwan Kulasekara, Vijaykumar Yo Mahesh, Abhinav Mukund, Wriddhiman Saha, Scott Styris, Sudeep Tyagi, K Vasudevadas, Ganapathi Vignesh, Doug Bollinger

More from Sify: