Taylor ton helps Kiwis wrap up series

Last Updated: Tue, Jan 28, 2014 08:38 hrs

Click here for the scores of the 4th ODI between India and New Zealand

A century by Ross Taylor helped New Zealand wrap up the series against India with a seven wicket victory in the fourth ODI at Hamilton.

Taylor finished unbeaten on 112 while skipper Brendon McCullum, after back to back ducks, hit the winning runs with a six and was not out on 49 as the hosts won with 11 balls to spare.

India had a glimmer of hope when Kane Williamson was run out for 60 with a direct hit by the man with the golden arm Ravindra Jadeja to end a threatening stand of 130 with Taylor.

But Taylor, in the company of skipper Brendon McCullum, slowly shut the door on India.

Taylor and Williamson had repaired the New Zealand innings after coming together at 58/2.

The Indian seamers had pegged back New Zealand by removing their openers.

Mohammad Shami and Varun Aaron got a wicket apiece.

The Kiwis had begun briskly in pursuit of 279, reaching 43/0 at the end of six overs.

Earlier, fifties by MS Dhoni and Ravindra Jadeja boosted India to a fighting 278.

Dhoni hit the last ball of the innings for a six to remain unbeaten on 79 off 73 balls while Jadeja was not out on 62 off 54 balls.

The two were involved in a rollicking unbroken stand of 127.

A fluent 79 by Rohit Sharma had revived India after a poor start.

Rohit reached his fifty off 72 balls with a six off James Neesham and eventually fell to offspinner Kane Williamson just when he was looking good for a ton.

R Ashwin, promoted to No.6, fell soon afterwards for five, leaving India in a spot of bother at 151/5 in the 34th over.

MS Dhoni and Ravindra Jadeja then took India to the 200 mark in the 42nd over which yielded 15 runs.

India had lost two early wickets after skipper MS Dhoni won the toss for the fourth successive time in the series and elected to bat for a change.

Shikhar Dhawan and Suresh Raina were dropped and replaced by Ambati Rayudu and Stuart Binny. The latter is making his ODI debut.

In Dhawan's absence, Virat Kohli opened the innings but fell cheaply to Tim Southee for just 2.

Ajinkya Rahane also disappointed and was removed by Kyle Mills for 3 soon after.

Rohit and Rayudu then put on 79 for the third wicket before Hamish Bennett sent back Rayudu for 37.

New Zealand exploited India's perennial weakness by taking the first three wickets with short pitched deliveries.

More from Sify: