England leave out Harmison, Panesar and Bopara

Last Updated: Thu, Oct 08, 2009 13:34 hrs

London: Fast bowler Steve Harmison, left-arm spinner Monty Panesar and batsman Ravi Bopara were left out of the England squad named on Thursday for the tour of South Africa.

Kevin Pietersen was included in the 16-man Test squad despite not having recovered fully from the Achilles tendon operation which sidelined him for part of the Ashes series victory over Australia.

Dhoni fined Rs 100 for submitting incomplete form

Three uncapped players have been selected for the Test squad - Surrey wicketkeeper Steven Davies, Yorkshire leg-spinner Adil Rashid and Sussex all-rounder Luke Wright.

Bowler Liam Plunkett, a team-mate of Harmison's at Durham, has also been recalled for the tour which begins in November and features four tests and five one-day internationals.

Test squad:

Andrew Strauss (Captain), Alastair Cook, James Anderson, Ian Bell, Stuart Broad, Paul Collingwood, Steven Davies, Graham Onions, Kevin Pietersen, Liam Plunkett, Matt Prior, Adil Rashid, Ryan Sidebottom, Graeme Swann, Jonathan Trott, Luke Wright

Get the top Sports stories of the day

ODI squad:

Andrew Strauss (Captain), James Anderson, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Paul Collingwood, Alastair Cook, Joe Denly, Sajid Mahmood, Eoin Morgan, Graham Onions, Kevin Pietersen, Matt Prior, Adil Rashid, Graeme Swann, Jonathan Trott, Luke Wright

More from Sify: