No ball! Or not? Another controversy sparked off in the ongoing Indian Premier League season in the final over of Match 25 between Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings. With the match hanging in balance, umpire Ulhas Gandhe signalled a no-ball which was revoked by the square leg umpire Bruce Oxenford in the final over.
The batsmen (Ravindra Jadeja and Mitchell Santner) took two from the Santner mistimed pull off the waist- high full toss towards wide long on.
However, this change in decision in the middle left the Chennai Super Kings skipper, who was cleaned up by Ben Stokes earlier in the over, furious and he crossed the rope and walked up to the umpires demanding an explanation.
This was probably the first time ever Dhoni, from the dugout, had come out in the middle to talk to the umpires. In the end, the no ball wasn't given. But Santner hit a six off the final delivery to seal CSK's stunning victory by four wickets at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium.
There were mixed reactions to Dhoni's actions on twitter.
Dhoni shouldn't have stepped onto the field at that moment.- Nomad of Nights (@Kanth__) April 11, 2019
Never Seen Dhoni This Much Animated In Recent Times- Dhoni Addicts (@msdaddicts) April 11, 2019
Really I'm Pumped When Dhoni Enters The Field In Anger pic.twitter.com/3cvzDQbQLb
The straight umpire Ulhas Gandhe, who got his arm up initially created the confusion. It was not his call to make as a no-ball for height is usually signalled by the square-leg umpire. So it was overruled by Bruce Oxenford, the square leg umpire. After Dhoni walked up to the umpires in protest a few RR players too got involved in the heated argument.
Following the episode, Dhoni has been docked 50 percent of his match fees for a Code of Conduct breach.
The CSK skipper admitted to the Level 2 offence under Article 2.20 of the IPL's Code of Conduct and accepted the sanction.
The last time Chennai won in Jaipur was way back in 2012. This is also Dhoni's 100th victory as skipper in IPL and the first to the milestone.