Australia make steady start in Mohali Test

Last Updated: Fri, Mar 15, 2013 06:05 hrs

The Indian bowlers toiled without reward after the third Test at Mohali finally got underway a day behind schedule.

The Australian openers, David Warner and Ed Cowan, safely negotiated the Indian new ball bowlers, Ishant Sharma and Bhuvaneshwar Kumar. Warner was in a belligerent mood and played some aggressive shots.

Even the introduction of spin did not faze the Aussie openers, who advanced to 109 without loss in the 36 overs bowled before lunch. Warner was batting on 54 and Cowan on 43.

Earlier, Australian captain Michael Clarke had won the toss and elected to bat first.

India made two changes in their squad. Shikhar Dhawan made his Test debut in place of Virender Sehwag while Pragyan Ojha returned after missing the first two Tests.

That meant Harbhajan Singh had to warm the bench on his home ground.

Australia made four changes after going down 2-0 in the series. Brad Haddin and Steven Smith made their first appearance in the series while Mitchell Starc and Nathan Lyon have been recalled after missing the second Test.

More from Sify: