ICC Cricket Committee to meet in London on May 28-29

Last Updated: Mon, May 06, 2013 08:05 hrs

Dubai: The International Cricket Council (ICC) Monday announced that its annual Cricket Committee meeting will take place in London May 28-29.

The committee will be chaired for the first time by former India captain Anil Kumble, who has succeeded ex-West Indies captain Clive Lloyd. Former England captain Andrew Strauss and ex-India leg-spinner Laxman Sivaramakrishnan will also attend their first ICC Cricket Committee meeting.

Strauss is one of the two Past Player representatives (replacing Ian Bishop) while Sivaramakrishnan is one of the two Current Player representatives (replacing Tim May). The other Current Player representative is former Sri Lanka captain Kumar Sangakkara, who has been on the committee since 2007.

Sangakkara and Sivaramakrishnan were recently elected by a vote of the 10 Test captains and will serve on the Cricket Committee for a three-year term from 2013-15.

The Cricket Committee’s remit is to discuss cricket-playing matters and to make recommendations to the ICC Chief Executives’ Committee and the ICC Board that will meet at Lord’s during the ICC’s annual conference week from June 25-29.

More from Sify: