IND vs NZ - Live Scores: 1st Test: Pujara, Vijay lead India's charge

Last Updated: Thu, Sep 22, 2016 12:39 hrs

Kanpur: In the first session on Day one of the first Test between India and New Zealand, Cheteshwar Pujara and Murali Vijay shut the doors on the visitors hopes for more wickets as the duo with an unbeaten 63-run partnership for the second wicket put India on top at Lunch. 

IND vs NZ - Live Scorecard | Live Commentary

KL Rahul and Vijay gave India a brisk start and although an aggressive Rahul 32 (39b 4x4 1x6) fell early, Vijay and Pujara ensured India don't lose any further wickets.

India at Lunch break were 105 for the loss of one wicket with Pujara and Vijay batting on 34 and 39 respectively.

Mitchell Santner scalped the wicket of Rahul and although the New Zealand spinners bowled well, Pujara and Vijay with some brilliant footwork kept them at bay.

Earlier, Indian skipper Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to bat first.

India in its historic 500th Test are playing with six batsmen, two fast bowlers and two spinners while the visiting New Zealand are playing with three spinners and two fast bowlers.

India has won 10 tests under Kohli's captaincy.


India: Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Ravichandran Ashwin, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami.

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, Kane Williamson (captain), Ross Taylor, Luke Ronchi, BJ Watling (wicket keeper), Mitchell Santner, Mark Craig, Neil Wagner, Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult

More from Sify: