India add Australia to their list of overseas Test series wins

Last Updated: Mon, Jan 07, 2019 09:22 hrs
india vs australia, 3rd Test highlights

Remember January 7, 2019 if you are an Indian cricket fan as the nation has won a Test series in Australia for the very first time. A 2-1 series win makes Virat Kohli the first Indian and Asian captain to lift a trophy Down Under.

After winning the first Test in Adelaide, the Virat Kohli-led side surrendered meekly in Perth before coming back strongly to win their first-ever Test in Melbourne to take a 2-1 lead in the four-match series. The fourth and final Test in Sydney was marred by rain on the last three days - denying the Indian team a possible 3-1 series win. No one is complaining though. And as India celebrates the feat in Australia, we bring you the nation's unforgettable journey to their other overseas series wins.

March 12, 1968: India won a Test series away from home for the first time. The Opponents were New Zealand and the series result was 3-1 in favour of India. India won the first, third and the fourth Test to clinch the series

April 19, 1971: India won their first series in the West Indies. The five-match series started with a draw at Kingston but a 1-0 win was possible after the Ajit Wadekar-led side won the second Test at Port-of-Spain. The next three Tests were drawn and India had defeated the mighty Caribbeans in a series for the very first time

August 24, 1971: A series win in England for the very first time happened on this day. The three-match series started with two draws and it was The Oval where the series was to be decided. A four-wicket win thanks to a magical spell of leg-spin bowling by Bhagwath Chandrasekhar laid the perfect platform for a win and on the last day of the Test series, the Indian batsmen made sure the English were beaten at their own backyard

September 22, 2005: India had toured Zimbabwe three times (1992, 1998 and 2001) and had returned empty-handed each time. In fact, they had lost the one-off Test in 1998 and also lost a Test in 2001. But in 2005, there were no hiccups and a thoroughly dominating performance saw the Sourav Ganguly-led side finally win a series in the Africa nation

India are the only team to have won a series in Australia. The final frontier, if one might call it, is South Africa. Again, no Asian team has won a series there. Team India could have won there in early 2018 but come the next series, they will surely have a realistic chance of achieving their dream.

More from Sify: