India to face Pakistan in final Champions Trophy

Last Updated: Wed, Aug 22, 2012 07:34 hrs

World champions India would face South Africa in the Champions Trophy opener next year in Cardiff, Wales.

India would play the Proteas on June 6, 2013 in Cardiff, and hosts England will begin the tournament by playing defending champions Australia in Edgbaston.

The Champions Trophy, the "mini World Cup", features the world's eight leading nations competing against each other in 50-overs cricket.

Next year, Group A will include Australia, England, New Zealand and Sri Lanka, while India, Pakistan, South Africa and the West Indies will compete with each other in Group B.

As well as Cardiff and Edgbaston, The Oval in south London will also stage Champions Trophy fixtures, with the final to be played at Edgbaston on June 23.

One of the standout group fixtures will be the clash between India and Pakistan in Birmingham, which has one of Britain's largest South Asian populations, on June 15.

"This will be a terrific opportunity for fans to see the world's very best one-day sides in action over the space of less than three weeks and the fixture schedule has thrown up a host of exciting head-to-head contests," Sports24 quoted tournament director Steve Elworthy, as saying.

Next year's edition will be the seventh and last Champions Trophy, with the tournament being replaced by the International Cricket Council's new World Test Championship instead.

ICC Champions Trophy 2013 schedule:

Venues: The Oval (London), Edgbaston (Birmingham), Cardiff

Group A: Australia, England, New Zealand, Sri Lanka

Group B: India, Pakistan, South Africa, West Indies (ANI)

More from Sify: