Indian women also win ODI series against New Zealand

Last Updated: Tue, Jan 29, 2019 13:35 hrs
Smriti Mandhana

Just like the Indian men's team, the Indian women have also taken an unassailable lead against New Zealand in their three-match ODI series which is being played as part of the ICC Women's Championship. Having won the first ODI by nine wickets, team India won the second ODI at Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui by eight wickets.

The Indian bowlers once again did the damage after captain Mithali Raj won the toss and elected to field first. The hosts were bowled out for 161 with captain Amy Satterthwaite top-scoring with 71. The Indian bowlers kept taking wickets at regular intervals and bowled out the opposition in 44.2 overs.

Jhulan Goswami was India's most successful bowler, recording figures of 3/23. Ekta Bisht, Deepti Sharma and Poonam Yadav also picked up a couple of wickets each.

In reply, the Indian team was in a bit of trouble at 15/2, having lost opener Jemima Rodrigues for a duck and Deepti Sharma for 8.

Post that, the experienced duo of Smriti Mandhana (90*) and Mithali (63*) batted with complete authority, added 151 for the third wicket and took their team home with 88 balls remaining.

The third and final ODI of the series will be played on Feb 1 at Hamilton.