Karnataka defeat Maharashtra to clinch maiden Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Last Updated: Fri, Mar 15, 2019 12:50 hrs
Cric generic

Karnataka defeated Maharashtra to win their maiden Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy at the Holkar Cricket Stadium in Indore on Thursday.

Chasing a target of 156 runs, Mayank Agarwal (85*) took charge of Karnataka's innings after the fall of opener Belur Sharath (2) and anchored a match-winning partnership of 92 runs off 59 balls with left-hander Rohan Kadam (60) for the second wicket.

After Kadam's departure, Karun Nair (8*) supported Agarwal in an unbroken third wicket stand of 53 runs off 38 balls. Agarwal then finished the match in style with a sixth boundary off seamer Divyang Hinganekar.

Maharashtra had early hiccups after sent in to bat. Naushad Shaikh, with his unbeaten 69, was the only run-getter from his side. Shaikh along with Ankit Bawne (29) put Maharashtra back on track for the fourth wicket.

At a point it seemed the duo would post a competitive target, however, the fall of Bawne off pacer Abhimanyu Mithun restricted Maharashtra to 155 for four.

Brief scores: Maharashtra 155/4 (Naushad Shaikh 69 not out, Rahul Tripathi 30, Abhimanyu Mithun 2/24) lost to Karnataka 159/2 (Mayank Agarwal 85 not out, Rohan Kadam 60).