Lewis' ton hands West Indies nine-wicket win

Last Updated: Mon, Jul 10, 2017 00:46 hrs
Lewis slams record hundred, West Indies decimate India

Evin Lewis slammed an unbeaten record century as West Indies decimated India by nine wickets to win the one-off T20I at Kingston on Sunday.

Chasing 191 runs to win, West Indies chased down the target in 18.3 overs as the Indian bowlers were sent on a leather hunt by the West Indies batsmen.

Lewis made an unbeaten 125 off just 62 deliveries and forged a an unbeaten 112-run stand for the second wicket with Marlon Samuels to close the doors on India.

India needed wickets upfront but Lewis and Chris Gayle put on a 82-run stand for the opening wicket. Kuldeep Yadav broke the opening stand by removing Gayle but an unmoved Lewis butchered the Indian attack.

While the pacers lacked control, the spinners failed to contain the run flow as Lewis raced away to notch his century.

After the departure of Gayle, Samuels along with Lewis stole the show to help West Indies finish on a winning note.

Earlier, India posted a challenging total of 190/6.

Dinesh Karthick was highest scorer for the visitors with 48 runs off 29 balls which included five boundaries and three sixes.

Pacers Jerome Taylor and Kesrick Williams were the most successful among the West Indies bowlers with figures of 2/31 and 2/36 respectively.

Asked to bat first, India were off to a good start with skipper Virat Kohli and Shikhar Dhawan producing an opening stand of 64 runs in 33 balls.

Kohli, who smashed Williams for a six and a four off the first two balls of the sixth over, mistimed the very next delivery when the pacer delivered a slower ball for an easy catch to Sunil Narine at mid-on.

Dhawan was also dismissed just two balls later when there was a horrible piece of miscommunication between him and Rishabh Pant and Williams caught the former short of his crease with an excellent throw.

However, Pant and Karthick brought the innings back on track with an 86-run partnership in 59 balls.

The hosts struck back when Taylor removed Pant and Mahendra Singh with consecutive balls in the 17th over.

But Ravindra Jadeja 13 not out) and Ravichandran Ashwin (11 not out) delivered a strong finish to help India to a big total.

More from Sify: