Prior gets the nod as 'keeper for World Cup

Last Updated: Wed, Jan 19, 2011 09:55 hrs

Hobart: Experienced Matt Prior on Wednesday got the nod ahead of Steve Davies as the lone wicketkeeper in England's 15-man squad for the Feb 19-April 2 Cricket World Cup in India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

Davies, 24, featured in England's squad for the ongoing seven one-day internationals against Australia but failed to book a place for cricket's showpiece event.

The 28-year old Prior, who last played an ODI for England against Bangladesh in March 2010, will join the England squad ahead of Friday's second ODI against Australia in Hobart.

How, Woodcock named in New Zealand World Cup squad

"Despite some strong performances both with the bat and behind the stumps by Steven Davies we feel that Matt's game will be better suited to the conditions in Bangladesh and India, the venues staging England's group matches," England national selector Geoff Miller said in a statement.

An out-of-form Paul Collingwood, who was dropped for Sunday's first ODI at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, found a place as did injured fast bowler Stuart Broad.

"Paul Collingwood may not have scored as many runs as he would have liked so far on the tour of Australia but he has been a consistently strong performer for England in limited overs cricket for a long period of time," Miller said.

"His experience, ODI knowledge and skills across all three facets of the game make him a valuable member of the squad and he'll be looking to make a big impact at another global event."

James Anderson will spearhead the pace attack with support from Broad, Tim Bresnan and Ajmal Shahzad while Graeme Swann will lead Michael Yardy and James Tredwell in the spin bowling department.

"With spin bowlers set to play a prominent role in this World Cup, we feel we have quality and depth in Graeme Swann, Michael Yardy and James Tredwell who have all shown their capabilities at international level," Miller said.

Squad: Andrew Strauss (captain), James Anderson, Ian Bell,Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Paul Collingwood, Eoin Morgan, KevinPietersen, Matt Prior, Ajmal Shahzad, Graeme Swann, James Tredwell, Jonathan Trott, Luke Wright, Michael Yardy.

More from Sify: