Ranji Trophy: Chand, Dhawan give Delhi a good start

Last Updated: Sat, Nov 24, 2012 14:56 hrs

New Delhi: Unmukt Chand and Shikhar Dhawan smashed hundreds for Delhi against Tamil Nadu while Rohit Sharma and Hiken Shah made three-figure scores in Mumbai's contest against Hyderabad on the opening day of the Ranji Trophy fourth round matches here Saturday.

Chand (134 not out) was batting alongside Mohit Sharma (40 not out) as Delhi made 287 for one by close of play at the Feroz Shah Kotla here. Captain Dhawan shared a 205-run partnership with opening partner Chand before being dismissed on 104.

It was the first century of the Ranji Trophy season for both Chand and Dhawan.

In Hyderabad, Mumbai ended day one at 325 for two against the hosts, thanks to Shah (154 not out) and Sharma (102 not out). The duo have added 203 runs for the third wicket after Aditya Tare made 62 at the top of the order.

Sharma hit nine fours and a maximum in his 161-ball knock, on way to his first hundred of the season. Shah, who had scored 140 against Rajasthan, collected 17 boundaries. 

Elsewhere, Karnataka bowled out Odisha for 202 after opting to field at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore. Nirjanjan Behera (61) top-scored for the visitors while SL Akshay took four wickets for Karnataka. Home team's skipper R. Vinay Kumar struck thrice.

Karnataka were 16 for no loss in reply to Odisha's total. 

Jammu and Kashmir, Saurashtra, Gujarat and Assam were all bowled out cheaply while teams like Punjab, Andhra and Jharkand had lost half their sides with meagre totals on the board.

Brief Scores:
Group A:
In Hyderabad: Mumbai 325 for two in 90 overs (Hiken Shah batting 154, Rohit Sharma batting 102, Aditya Tare 62) vs Hyderabad 

In Indore: Madhya Pradesh 322 for five in 90 overs (Naman Ojha 99, Devendra Bundela 61, Udit Birla 50; Shami Ahmed 2-68, Abhishek Jhunjhunwala 1-33) vs Bengal

In Mohali: Saurashtra 90 all out in 27.1 overs (Sagar Jogiyani 41, Bhushan Chauhan 29; Sandeep Sharma 7-25, Siddharth Kaul 2-18) vs Punjab 125 for five in 52 (Jiwanjot Singh 61, Karan Goel 26; Sandip Maniar 2-8, Siddharth Trivedi 2-37)

In Bhubaneswar: Gujarat 117 all out in 48.5 overs (Parthiv Patel 55; Sanjay Bangar 5-12, Hardik Rathod 3-47, Krishnakant Upadhyay 2-31) vs Railways 145 for two in 38 overs (Amit Paunikar 85) 

Group B:
In Delhi: Delhi 287 for one in 80 overs (Unmukt Chand batting 134, Shikhar Dhawan 104) vs Tamil Nadu

In Rohtak: Haryana 221 for five in 97 overs (Rahul Dalal batting 64, Rahul Dewan 48, Sachin Rana; Murtuja Vahora 2-46, Utkarsh Patel 2-54) vs Baroda

In Bangalore: Odisha 202 in 79.3 overs (Niranjan Behera 61, Subhrajit Sahoo 45; HS Sharath 2-47, SL Akshay 4-40) vs Karnataka 16 for none in 6 overs

In Nagpur: Maharashtra 227 for three in 90 overs (Virag Awate batting 111, Sangram Dilip Atitkar 45; Sairaj Bahutule 2-55) vs Vidarbha 

Group C:
In Jammu: Jammu and Kashmir 153 all out in 50.5 overs (Manish Dogra 30, Rahil Sambyal 31; Syed Sahabuddin 5-53, Rajesh Pawar 2-24) vs Andhra 118 for four in 30 overs (Amol Muzumdar batting 61, Bodapati Sumanth 41; Ram Dayal 2-3)

In Ranchi: Jharkhand 176 for five in 90 overs (Saurabh Tiwary batting 65, Sunny Gupta batting 58; Vikramjeet Malik 2-28, Rishi Dhawan 3-32) vs Himachal Pradesh

In Malappuram: Goa 281 for four in 85 overs (Sagun Kamat 107, Manvinder Bisla 74, Ravikant Shukla batting 44; Rohan Prem 1-29) vs Kerala

In Delhi: Assam 182 all out in 78.3 overs (Tarjinder Singh 29, Rajdeep Das 26; Suraj Yadav 4-58, Nishan Singh 2-34) vs Services 11 for none in 5 overs

More from Sify: