Rasool, Mohit included in Indian team for Zimbabwe ODIs

Last Updated: Fri, Jul 05, 2013 17:14 hrs

Two uncapped players - Pervez Rasool and Mohit Sharma - have been included in the Indian squad that will play five ODIs in Zimbabwe from July 24 to August 3.

Virat Kohli will captain the Indian team in the absence of the injured MS Dhoni.

The selectors also named the India A squad that will tour South Africa after the ODI series in Zimbabwe. Cheteshwar Pujara will be the captain of that team. Pujara is also in the ODI squad for the Zimbabwe series.

Four players in the Indian squad for the ongoing tri-series in West Indies - R Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav and Bhuvneshwar Kumar - are being rested for the Zimbabwe series. One more player, Murali Vijay, has been dropped though he is in the India A team.

The selectors resisted the temptation to recall any of the discarded seniors like Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh and Harbhajan Singh for either of the tours. 

Here are the full squads:

India squad: Virat Kohli (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik, Cheteshwar Pujara, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Parvez Rasool, Mohammad Shami, R Vinay Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohit Sharma.

India A squad: Cheteshwar Pujara (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, M Vijay, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, Ajinkya Rahane, Wriddhiman Saha, Parvez Rasool, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mohammed Shami, Stuart Binny, Ishwar Chand Pandey, Jaydev Unadkat, Sidharth Kaul

More from Sify: