Sindhu, Srikanth steal the show at TOISA 2018

Last Updated: Tue, Feb 27, 2018 15:51 hrs

Ace Indian shuttlers PV Sindhu and Kadambi Srikanth stole the show during the third edition of 2018 Mahindra Scorpio Times of India Awards (TOISA).

The likes of Abhinav Bindra, Bhaichung Bhutia, Devendra Jhajharia, Reeth Abraham and Gautam Gambhir were part of the jury panel to choose India's best sportspersons of the year 2017.

While Srikanth's superb show in 2017, won him the Sportsperson of the Year and Jury's Choice for Badminton Player of the Year (male), Sindhu was won the Badminton Player of the Year in the female section.

Legendary former India tennis player Vijay Amritraj was given the lifetime achievement award. Top Indian sportspersons like Jasprit Bumrah, Pankaj Advani, Harmanpreet Singh, Savita Punia, Heena Sidhu and Ankur Mittal were also given awards. 

Here's a list of the winners. 

Sportsperson of the Year: Kidambi Srikanth

Team of the Year: Indian men's hockey team

Coach of the year: Anil Kumble

Mentor of the Year: Pullela Gopichand

Inspiration of the Year: Indian women's cricket team

Emerging Player of the Year: Anish Bhanwala

Lifetime Acheivement Award: Vijay Amritraj

Change Agent: Madhya Pradesh

Para-athlete of the Year: Varun Bhati

Archer of the Year: Abhishek Verma

Athlete of the Year: G Lakshmanan

Badminton Player of the Year: (MALE & FEMALE): Kidambi Srikanth & PV Sindhu

Basketball Player of the Year: Amjyot Singh Gill

Billiards/Snooker Player of the Year: Pankaj Advani

Boxer of the Year: Gaurav Bidhuri

Chess Player of the Year: Harika Dronavalli

Cricketer of the Year: Jasprit Bumrah & Harmanpreet Kaur

Football Player of the Year: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu

Golfer of the Year: Ajeetesh Sandhu

Hockey Player of the Year: (MALE & FEMALE): Harmanpreet Singh & Savita Punia

Kabaddi Player of the Year: Pardeep Narwal

Shooter of the Year: (MALE & FEMALE): Ankur Mittal & Heena Sidhu

Squash Player of the Year: Saurav Ghosal

Table Tennis Player of the Year: Sathiyan Gnansekaran

Tennis Player of the Year: Rohan Bopanna

Weightlifter of the Year: Saikhom Mirabai Chanu

Image Courtesy: Viral Bhayani

More from Sify: