South Africa confirmed as host for Champions League T20 in October

Last Updated: Tue, Jun 26, 2012 12:10 hrs

South Africa would host the fourth season of the Champions League Twenty20 tournament, which is also the most lucrative club-cricket tournament in the world, in October, with Cape Town, Johannesburg, Centurion and Durban as the venues.

"South Africa will host CLT20 this year," The News quoted a member of CLT20's technical committee, Sundar Raman's tweet, as saying.

India had hosted the tournament in the other two years, and was originally frontrunners to hold the competition in 2012 as well.

The governing council of the CLT20 had met last month in an attempt to finalize the format and venue of this season's tournament, but hadn't been able to reach a decision.

One confirmed change from last season is the inclusion of Sialkot Stallions, Pakistan's domestic champions.

The other teams which have made it to, at least the qualifying stage of the tournament, are: Kolkata Knight Riders, Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Daredevils, Mumbai Indians (all four from the IPL), Auckland Aces (from New Zealand), Trinidad and Tobago (from West Indies), Sydney Sixers, Perth Scorchers (both from Australia's Big Bash League), Titans, Lions (both from South Africa).

The representatives from Sri Lanka and England will be decided after next month's Sri Lanka Premier League and the ongoing Friends Life T20. (ANI)

More from Sify: