Srinivasan confirmed as ICC Chairman

Last Updated: Thu, Jun 26, 2014 11:28 hrs

Narayanaswami Srinivasan was confirmed as the Chairman of the International Cricket Council (ICC) after the 52-member Full Council approved amendments to the ICC's Memorandum and Articles of Association at the Annual Conference in Melbourne on Thursday.
Srinivasan has been nominated by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) for the top position and will assume charge following the conclusion of the ICC Annual Conference week.
The approval of the constitutional changes, which flowed from an ICC Board resolution taken in Singapore on 8 February and finalised on 10 April, also means that a new Executive Committee was formed, which will report to the ICC Board.
The initial Chair of the Executive Committee will be Cricket Australia's Chairman, Wally Edwards, while the Chair of the ICC's Finance and Commercial Affairs Committee (F&CA) will continue to be England and Wales Cricket Board's Chairman, Giles Clarke.
Srinivasan said it was an honour to become ICC Chairman and promised that the ICC will continue to play a leading role in the promotion and development of the global game.
"It is an honour to be confirmed as the Chairman of the International Cricket Council," said Mr Srinivasan, adding: "I will leave no stone unturned in trying to strengthen the pillars and foundations of our sport, both on and off the field. I want to ensure that cricket retains and grows its popularity, and that the ICC plays a leading role in this global growth.
"I want to see more strong teams in international cricket. For this to be achieved, we all need to work hard to develop local talent in our countries. Naturally, there will be more support to those who first show they can help themselves.
"The ICC is a Members' organisation and the pathway is now there for any Member to play Test cricket or in the major ICC events if it performs well enough over a sustained period of time."

Narayanaswami Srinivasan
?                   President of the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association since 2001-02
?                   Former Honorary Treasurer, BCCI, from 2005-06 to 2007-08
?                   Former Honorary Secretary, BCCI, from 2008-09 to 2010-11
?                   Became BCCI President in 2011-12
?                   Represented BCCI at the ICC Board and has been instrumental in bringing about significant changes in the governance and administrative policies of the ICC
?                   India won the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 and the U19 ICC Cricket World Cup Australia 2012 under his Presidency
?                   The BCCI, during his tenure as President in 2012, made a one-time benefit payment to international and first-class cricketers who retired before 2004, in recognition of their services to Indian cricket. More than Rs 100 crores were distributed among 174 cricketers (including the widows of deceased Test cricketers)
?                   Played a pivotal role in creating and developing cricketing infrastructure across India. The member-units of the BCCI were helped and encouraged in this regard. Special emphasis was placed on the acquisition of qualified coaches, physiotherapists and trainers, and the creation of a pathway to train and nurture match officials
?                   Four state-of-the-art India stadia made their international debuts in the 2012-13 season. Rajkot, Ranchi and Dharamshala hosted ODIs, and Pune staged T20 Internationals.
Mustafa Kamal
?                   Chartered Accountant by profession
?                   BCB President from September 2009-October 2013
?                   Former Chairman of the ICC?s Audit Committee
?                   Asian Cricket Council (ACC) President from 2010-2012
?                   ICC Vice-President from 2012-2014
?                   Former Director of Abahani Limited, one of the most prominent cricket clubs of Bangladesh, from 1991-2007, and Chairman of the club?s Cricket Committee from 1991 to 2006
?                   Founded the Lotus Kamal Pace Bowling Cricket Academy in the 1990s, one of the first of its kind in Bangladesh
?                   Led the recruitment process of high profile international cricket players in the Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League, the main cricket competition during Bangladesh?s pre-Test era
?                   Brought all domestic first-class players under the BCB central contract system in 2012-13
?                   Elected as a Member of Parliament three times, and presently is the Minister for Planning of the Government of the People?s Republic of Bangladesh.
The Full Council includes 37 Associate Members, five Affiliate Member representatives and 10 Full Members. The ICC President, ICC Vice-President and ICC Chief Executive are also part of the Full Council but don?t have voting rights.
**The list of ICC Presidents is:
Lord Colin Cowdrey  1989-1993*
Sir Clyde Walcott     1993-1997*
Jagmohan Dalmiya   1997-2000
Malcolm Gray          2000-2003
Ehsan Mani             2003-2006
Percy Sonn             2006-2007
Ray Mali                 2007-2008
David Morgan          2008-2010
Sharad Pawar         2010-2012
Alan Isaac              2012-2014
Mustafa Kamal        2014-
Srinivasan congratulated outgoing ICC President Alan Isaac for his contribution.
"Mr Isaac has been an inspirational President of the ICC. He provided guidance to everyone during his two-year term and all three international formats remain incredibly popular. The game is unquestionably stronger than it was at the start of his term," said Mr Srinivasan.
The Annual Conference also saw Mustafa Kamal become the 11th President of the ICC.
Kamal said: "This is a memorable and historic day for Bangladesh cricket. On this day 14 years ago, Bangladesh became the 10th Test playing country. Today, a Bangladeshi becomes the 11th President** of the International Cricket Council. Thank you for bestowing this honour on Bangladesh and me.
"Over the next 12 months, I look forward to working with the ICC Board and ICC Management, and will be delighted to contribute in any way I can. In Srinivasan and David Richardson, I have absolute trust and confidence that we have a combination that will not only strengthen our sport, but will also take this great organisation to a new level."
From 2016, the ICC Board, which will continue to be the primary decision-making body, will elect the ICC Chairman for a two-year term.
The ICC Board confirmed that the USA Cricket Association (USACA) is the ICC?s recognised member in the USA.  The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) and ICC management will, however, continue to work with USACA and other interested stakeholders to assist in overcoming some challenges currently facing the governance and development of the game in the USA.
The ICC Board also approved the Development Committee?s recommendation that Oman Cricket (OC) becomes the 38th Associate Member of the ICC. However, Affiliate Membership of Brunei was suspended, while Tonga was removed as an Affiliate Member. The ICC now has 105 members.
The ICC Board also noted the Associate and Affiliate Members' decision, which re-elected Imran Khawaja and Neil Speight for another two years as their representatives on the ICC Board, while Keith Oliver was replaced by Francois Erasmus. 

ICC Press Release

More from Sify: