Team India squad for New Zealand ODI series

Last Updated: Thu, Oct 06, 2016 19:47 hrs
dhoni with selectors

Image Courtesy: BCCI

New Delhi: Star batsman Suresh Raina and all-rounder Hardik Pandya have been recalled to the national squad for the first three games of the five-match One Day International (ODI) series against New Zealand, starting on October 16.

India vs New Zealand - Complete Coverage

This was the first assignment for the newly-appointed selection committee of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) headed by M.S.K. Prasad.

The 15-member squad led by limited overs skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who last played the ODI and T20 International series in Zimbabwe in June, however, left out regulars like off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin and left-arm spinner Ravindra Jadeja.

The batting department has been bolstered by the return of Test skipper Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane and Rohit Sharma while Manish Pandey is likely to fill in for injured Lokesh Rahul as opener.

Maharashtra stumper Kedar Jadhav and Punjab batsman Mandeep Singh also retained their places in the squad.

Meanwhile, the bowling department will be spearheaded by Umesh Yadav, and will also comprise Jasprit Bumrah and Dhawal Kulkarni.

The spin department will be headed by senior leg-spinner Amit Mishra in the company of left-armer Axar Patel and offie Jayant Yadav.

The first match will be played in Dharamsala on October 16 followed by the second at Delhi's Feroz Shah Kotla on October 20 while the third match will be played at Mohali on October 23.

Squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain), Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Manish Pandey, Suresh Raina, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Amit Mishra, Jasprit Bumrah, Dhawal Kulkarni, Umesh Yadav, Mandeep Singh, Kedar Jadhav.

More from Sify: