Twitterati celebrate MI triumph

Last Updated: Mon, May 27, 2013 14:50 hrs

Kolkata: Twitter was swamped with congratulatory messages for Mumbai Indians with celebrities from both entertainment and cricket world applauding the Rohit Sharma-led side for clinching its maiden IPL title.

Bollywood star Abhishek Bachchan followed the match ball-by-ball as he tweeted: "YESSSSSSSS!!! MUMBAI!!!! Well done," and he also got a shock when Sachin Tendulkar announced that IPL 6 was his last.

"No That did not just happen," wrote the the Junior Bachchan as there was similar sentiment echoed by Riteish Deshmukh.

"Thank you Sachin for super 6 IPL seasons -- RESPECT -- We will miss you."

He further congratulated MI and tweeted: "AND Weeeee Winnnnnnnnn -- MUMBAIIIIIIIIIIII INDIANNNNSSSSSSS. YOU CHAMPIONSSSSS."

While commending MI efforts, the celebrities did not forget Chennai Super Kings' effort, for finishing runners up for the second-consecutive time.

Vivek Oberoi said it was worth waiting for six years as he wrote in his Twitter handle: "FINALLLLLLY!!! After 6 years of waiting, finally Mumbai Indians win! #iplfinal Kudos to Dhoni for a brave fight but so happy we won!"

Bollywood new-heartthrob Sonakshi Sinha was all excited as she wrote: "Yayyyyy MUMBAI INDIANSSS!!! Time to celebrate... Congratulations for an amazing win and even better IPL final."

Former Miss Universe Sushmita Sen confessed that she was a M S Dhoni-fan but the day belonged to the Mumbai Indians.

"CONGRATULATIONS MI on their FIRST EVER win at d IPL!!!:))Well deserved Victory!! MI supporters a moment to remember...UR team was SUPER!!:))," Sen wrote.

"Congratulations Dhoni for living up to his reputation against all odds... I truly have the deepest respect for this one man army. Well done CSK," she added.

Industrialist Vijay Mallya, whose side Royal Challengers Bangalore failed to make the playoffs, wrote: "Congrats MI-IPL 6 Champions."

Bollywood actor turned team owner of Kings XI Preity Zinta also joined in the congratulatory messages as she wrote: "Congratulations#MI;-) As a Mumbaikar I've got a big grin on my face tonight :-))))) Sorry#Csk but u've won be4 ! Well played Dhoni ! Ting."

Rajasthan Royals owner Raj Kundra in fact drew parallels with Manchester United's EPL triumph and tweeted: "With regards to my Manchester United comment they won EPL and #MI the IPL I rest my case :)) !! Hahahaha well done @mipaltan".

Kolkata Knight Riders skipper Gautam Gambhir who led their team to triumph last year also congratulated MI.

"Congrats MI for winning the title. Excellent win, happy for all of you, especially Rohit Sharma. Hope he continues to shine," Gambhir tweeted.

Knight Riders CEO Venky Mysore attributed victory to the support lent by the Kolkata crowd.

"Congrats to @mipaltan-Deserving winners. Congrats also to @ChennaiIPL - the most consistent team. All credit to the Kolkata crowd," Venky Mysore wrote in his Twitter handle.

"Congrats to the Mumbai Indians. A job well done, Lee said in his Twitter handle.

Another Kolkata Knight Rider Manoj Tiwary also congratulated tweeting: "Happy 4 my brothers rohit nd pragyan... u both were excellent !!! Congrats MI for becoming the new champions of IPL."

Australian cricketer Cameron White tweeted "well played!!"

Mumbai Indians spinner Pragyan Ojha said: "We r the ipl champions. Mumbai Indians rocks!!! What a feeling...."

More from Sify: