Virat Kohli sweeps ICC Awards

Last Updated: Tue, Jan 22, 2019 12:53 hrs
India vs West India Rajkot Test - Day 2 highlights

Indian captain Virat Kohli has become the first player in history to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year, the ICC Men’s Test Player of the Year and the ICC ODI Player of the Year awards in the same year following an extraordinary 2018.

"It feels amazing. It's a reward for all the hard work that you do throughout the calendar year. I feel really grateful and very, very happy with the team doing well at the same time myself performing. Having recognition at the global level from the ICC is something you feel proud of as a cricketer because you understand that there are many players playing the game. To be rewarded in this manner from amongst all of them is obviously a very proud moment for me and something that gives you more motivation to keep repeating the same things because you have to keep the standard of cricket up and keep bringing in consistent performances. From that point of view, these awards give you that extra motivation," Kohli was quoted as saying in an ICC press release.

Virat, who finished the year as the top-ranked batsman in Tests and ODIs, also had the highest score in both forms of the game in 2018 and was one of only two batsmen to score more than 1,000 runs in Tests and only among three to do so in ODI cricket.

Kohli had won the Sir Garfield Trophy and ICC ODI Player of the Year awards last year and was also the ICC ODI Player of the Year in 2012.

Virat was also named captain of both the International Cricket Council's (ICC) Test and ODI Teams of the Year following his remarkable show in 2018 both as batsman and skipper.

Pacer Jasprit Bumrah is the other Indian to make it to both the sides while stumper Rishabh Pant, who was named the Emerging Player of the Year, is the third Indian to find a place in the Test Team of the Year.

Besides Kohli and Bumrah, opener Rohit Sharma and chinaman Kuldeep Yadav are the other Indians to be named in the ICC ODI Team of the Year.