Viru, Gauti, Zak recalled to play West Indies A

Viru, Gauti, Zak recalled to play West Indies A

Last Updated: Tue, Sep 10, 2013 12:27 hrs

Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir and Zaheer Khan have been given a lifeline by the national selectors after being picked to play for India A against West Indies A later this month.

The series against West Indies A takes place during the Champions League T20. Delhi Daredevils, Kolkata Knight Riders and Royal Challengers Bangalore did not make the cut for the CLT20 which may be a blessing in disguise for the troubled troika.

Gambhir is currently peddling his wares for Essex in the English County Championship in a valiant attempt to catch the eyes of the selectors.

Cheteshwar Pujara will captain India A in the longer format and Yuvraj Singh in the shorter formats.

Here are the India A squads announced:

For the first four day game:  Cheteshwar Pujara (captain), Jiwanjot Singh, KL Rahul, Manpreet Juneja, Rajat Paliwal, Harshad Khadiwale, Parvez Rasool, Bhargav Bhatt, Ishwar Pandey, Mohammed Shami, Ashok Dinda, Rohit Motwani, Dhawal Kulkarni, Paras Dogra 

For the second and third four day games:  Cheteshwar Pujara (captain), Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Sheldon Jackson, Abhishek Nayar, Paras Dogra, Uday Kaul, Parvez Rasool, Bhargav Bhatt, Dhawal Kulkarni, Zaheer Khan, Ishwar Pandey, Mohammed Shami, Mohammad Kaif 

For the three 50-over games and one T20:  Yuvraj Singh (captain), Unmukt Chand, Robin Uthappa, B Aparajith, Kedar Jadhav, Naman Ojha, Yusuf Pathan, Irfan Pathan, Jaydev Unadkat, Praveen Kumar, Sumit Narwal, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mandeep Singh, Rahul Sharma

Meanwhile Yuvraj Singh and Irfan Pathan have been named the captains of the India Blue and India Red squads respectively for the Challenger Trophy.

India Blue squad: Yuvraj Singh (captain), Akshath Reddy, Naman Ojha, Mandeep Singh, Ankit Bawane, Abhishek Nayar, Manish Pandey, Piyush Chawla, Ankit Rajpoot, Vinay Kumar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Iresh Saxena 

India Red squad: Irfan Pathan (captain), Robin Uthappa, Abhinav Mukund, Sourabh Tiwary, Gurkeerat Mann, Kedar Jadhav, Smit Patel, Yusuf Pathan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Abhimanyu Mithun, Umesh Yadav, Suraj Yadav 

More from Sify: